British Cycling confirms the senior academy and senior squad riders for 2018-2019

British Cycling confirms the senior academy and senior squad riders for 2018-2019

Home » Great Britain Cycling Team

British Cycling is pleased to confirm the names of 25 riders who will train with the Great Britain Cycling Team’s senior academy programme and senior squad for the 2018-2019 season.

Six riders will make the transition from the junior academy and development squads, with Anna Docherty, Ellie Russell, Jim Brown, Will Tidbull, Ethan Vernon and Ali Fielding all making the step up from their respective junior and development programmes.

Lusia Steele, who has represented the Great Britain Cycling Team as a guest rider this year, has also made selection for the women’s sprint programme.

Tom Stanton, performance pathway manager for the Great Britain Cycling Team, said: “Each year, the standard of applications we receive to join our senior academy programmes for the track disciplines and the senior squads for BMX supercross and mountain bike cross-country disciplines, is impressively high and is testament to the hard work which goes in by British Cycling at a grass roots level.

“This year was no different, and I’m confident we have selected a squad with bright futures to continue the legacy of the Great Britain Cycling Team’s success.

“The selected group of riders will now embark on our annual induction process to ensure they have all the information and the skills they need to ensure they are able to make the most of their time on the senior academy and senior squad, as they continue their journey towards the podium.

“I’d also like to congratulate Meg Barker and Lauren Bate, who will transition onto the podium programmes for track endurance and track sprint respectively.”

Ethan Vernon, who was selected to represent Team Wales at this year’s Commonwealth Games aged just 17 said: “I can’t wait to make the step-up onto the senior academy and become a full-time athlete with the Great Britain Cycling Team. The programme has seen so many success stories, and I’m hoping I can join the list of riders who go on to win world and Olympic titles in the future.”

Lusia Steele said: “I’m excited to join the senior academy sprint programme this year. I’ve had a few opportunities to train and compete with the Great Britain Cycling Team and I’ve learned a lot from being around the support staff and the other riders. Now that I’ve been accepted onto the programme, I can focus fully on my training as well as benefit from the support that British Cycling can offer its riders.”

Senior Academy:

Women’s Endurance

Rhona Callander

Anna Docherty

Jenny Holl

Becky Raybould

Jess Roberts

Ellie Russell

Men’s endurance

Jim Brown

Rhys Britton

Joe Nally

Will Tidball

Ethan Vernon

Matt Walls

Fred Wright

Men’s sprint

Ali Fielding

Lewis Stewart

Hamish Turnbull

Women’s sprint

Sophie Capewell

Georgia Hilleard

Blaine Ridge-Davis

Lusia Steele

Milly Tanner

Senior Squad:


Paddy Sharrock

Kye Whyte


Frazer Clacherty

Cameron Orr

British Cycling’s programme membership is reviewed on a quarterly basis and an up-to-date squad roster can be found here.