2010 European Masters Track Championships

2010 European Masters Track Championships


Bookmark    and Share  Follow britishcycling.org.uk on Follow       British Cycling on Facebook  Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       Youtube Channel Visit our       images on Flickr

2010 European Masters Track Championships

July 27 - 31 2010 | Manchester Velodrome | Event Website & Full results

This is the 3rd European Masters Track Cycling Championships and takes place over five days with over 200 riders from 12 European Nations contesting 46 separate championships.

Feature: British Cycling visited the opening day of the championships to capture the action and talk to some of the riders as they came off the podium. Report-Photos

Day 1: The opening day of the 2010 event produced two European and one World Best time and again reaffirmed the status of the European Masters Track Championships as a World class event.  Report-Results

Day 2: The days highlight was undoubtably the Men's 40-44 and 45-49 Sprint competitons as France's Achen Aggar won a hard fought Gold over John McClelland and Philipe Vernet, also of France clinched the Gold over John Saysell of Great Britain as both finals went to three rides. Report-Results

Day 3: On the third day of the competition, there was a right mixed bag of events from the Points race for the endurance races to the 500 metre time trials for the over 70’s. Report-Results

Day 4: Lots of surprising action on day 4 as France go on a lapping spree in the Men's Points race and familair names win yet more Gold while for Chris Bush, victory was a first for him at this level. Report-Results

Day 5: A frenetic Scratch race closed the third running of the European Masters Track Championships as Neil Campbell fought off fellow Brit John McClelland to win the coveted 64 lap Brian Cossavella Memorial Trophy on Saturday evening. Report-Results

Note: Event Website & Full results