Day 4: European Masters Track Championships

Home » Track cycling

Bookmark    and Share  Follow on Follow       British Cycling on Facebook  Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       Youtube Channel Visit our       images on Flickr

2010 European Masters Track Championships

July 27 - 31 2010 | Manchester Velodrome | Event Press Release

Day 4

The 10 riders who lined up for the Men's 35-39 Points race obviously had little idea of what was in store for them as France's Alain Bornet made up for a lacklustre 2009 Championships. Together with countryman Karl Chandavione, the pair took the first 4 of 12 sprints. With Great Britain's Graham Lackford, the duo lapped the field six times. Bornet's 28 sprint points saw him amass a total of 88 while Chandavione's 33 sprint points combined with his mere 40 lap points saw him claim Silver. Lackford lost out due to the points lost in the early sprints but had the consolation of a Bronze with a 28 point lead over Richard Prince in fourth.

2009 Silver Medallist, Chris Bush, of Great Britain moved up both a category and a place from last year when he won his first Masters Gold medal to add to his British National Championship win in the same event earlier this year. Bush caught and passed early leader John McClelland who had accumulated 10 points from the first four sprints to Bush's seven. By lap 40, the Austrian Wolfgang Kotzman moved into the frame as he took the fourth sprint and started picking up points along with Andrew Tinsley of Great Britain and Jean-Phillipe Meret of France.

Going into the last sprint, McClelland and Meret, both on 11 points, were chasing Bush on 12 with Tinsley on 8. Bush won the dash for the line from Tinsley as second to fifth places ended up on 11 points to Bush's 17. In the Women's 40-44 Sprint, Janet Birkmyre cruised to her third Gold of the week while GB's Roland Crayford added the Mens 70+ Points to his tally of European and World Masters Golds. Peter Ettles of Great Britain gained consolation for losing out in the Men's 45-49 Pursuit title as he took the top spot on the Points race. Women's 40-49 Sprint


Women's 40-49 Sprint
GOLD Janet Birkmyre  Great Britain
SILVER Cheryl Owens  Great Britain
BRONZE Jeanette Baxter Great Britain

Men's 70+ Points
GOLD Roland Crayford  Great Britain
SILVER Clive Walmsley Great Britain
BRONZE Derrick Woodings Great Britain

Mens 35-39 Points
GOLD Alain Bornet   France
SILVER Karl Chandavoine  France
BRONZE Graeme Lackford Great Britain

Mens 40-44 Points
GOLD Chris Bush   Great Britain
SILVER Andrew Tinsley  Great Britain
BRONZE Wolfgang Kotzman Austria

Mens 45-49 Points
GOLD Peter Ettles   Great Britain
SILVER Michael Blasczyk  Germany
BRONZE Stephen Clayton Great Britain

Men's 50-54 Sprint
GOLD Steve Cronshaw  Great Britain
SILVER  Ivor Reid Great Britain
BRONZE Keith Williams Great Britain

Men's 60-64 2000m Individual Pursuit
GOLD Kevin Gill Great Britain
SILVER Michael Allen Great Britain
BRONZE Graham Truelove Great Britain