Day 1 European Masters Track Championships

Home » Track cycling

Bookmark    and Share  Follow on Follow       British Cycling on Facebook  Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       Youtube Channel Visit our       images on Flickr

2010 European Masters Track Championships

July 27 - 31 2010 | Manchester Velodrome | Event Press Release

Day 1 Report
(click here for a British Cycling Feature on the racing)
The opening day of the 2010 event produced two European and one World Best time and again reaffirmed the status of the European Masters Track Championships as a World class event. Dave LeGrys reduced the 2009 worlds best time of David Wilmott of Australia and the 2008 mark of France's Gérard Louis Robert by .103 and .443 secs respectively when he proved he is not slowing down despite moving up an age category.

Fellow Brits, Ben Elliot and Geoff Cooke also stormed to Gold in the 35-39 and 65-69 age groups. Elliott took the year old mark of 1:08.944 by Germany's Olaf Schnaar down by almost two seconds to 1:06.020 In the 65-69 category, multi World and European medallist Geoff Cooke reduced his own 2009 best time by .044 seconds.

The French duo of Achen Aggar and Philipe Vernet retained their Men's 45-49 and 40-44 Time Trial titles respectively but the non appearance of the popular Gérard Louis Robert allowed Masters debutante Angelo Onofri of Italy to take a narrow win ahead of last years Bronze medallist Graziano Pantosti. Also moving up a category, Ben Elliott re-wrote the existing European Best Time of 1:08.994 set by Germany's Olaf Schnaar last year by almost 2 seconds with 1:06.020.

Last years Women's Best Overall rider, Janet Birkmyre, look set to continue her domination of the event as she won all five sprints in the 50 lap Women’s 40-49 Points race final.

Click here for a British Cycling Feature on the racing

Medal Winners

Men's 70+ 500m Time Trial
GOLD Roland Crayford Great Britain
SILVER Peter Tranberg Denmark
BRONZE Derek Thurrell Great Britain

Womens 35-39 Points
GOLD Siobhan Mullen Great Britain
SILVER Aideen Collard Ireland

Womens 50+ Points
GOLD Christine Higgs Great Britain

Womens 40-49 Points
GOLD Janet Birkmyre Great Britain
SILVER Jayne Paine Great Britain
BRONZE Orla Hendron Ireland

Men's 65-69 500m Time Trial
GOLD Geoffrey Cooke Great Britain
SILVER David Rowe Great Britain
BRONZE Michael Briat France

Men's 60-64 500m Time Trial
GOLD Angelo Onofri Italy
SILVER Graziano Pantosti Italy
BRONZE Rene Grignon France

Men's 55-59 500m Time Trial
GOLD David LeGrys Great Britain
SILVER David Smith Great Britain
BRONZE Marc Dangleterre France

Men's 50-54 500m Time Trial
GOLD Ivor Reid Great Britain
SILVER Steve Cronshaw Great Britain
BRONZE Keith Williams Great Britain

Men's 45-49 750m Time Trial
GOLD Phillippe Vernet France
SILVER John Saysell Great Britain
BRONZE Timothy Lawson Great Britain

Men's 40-44 750m Time Trial
GOLD Ahcen Aggar France
SILVER Neil Potter Great Britain
BRONZE Aderito Da Cruz France

Men's 35-39 1000m Time Trial
GOLD Ben Elliott Great Britain
SILVER Ieuan Williams Great Britain
BRONZE Olaf Schnaar Germany

Event Website for Full Results -- Click here