Track World Cup Glasgow Member Access
Great Britain Cycling Team announced for 2016 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships

Great Britain Cycling Team announced for 2016 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships

Home » Track cycling

British Cycling has today announced the Great Britain Cycling Team that will ride at the 2016 UCI Para-cycling Track World Championships in Montichiari, Italy from 17-20 March.

Multiple Paralympic gold medallists Dame Sarah Storey and Jody Cundy are both selected, as the 21 strong squad go in search of rainbow jerseys and Paralympic qualification points in the final major event before the Paralympic Games in Rio.

Also in the squad are Sophie Thornhill (piloted by Helen Scott), and Neil Fachie (piloted by Pete Mitchell) who will both be hoping to defend their world titles in the Kilo and Tandem Sprint events.

Neil Fachie and Pete Mitchell

Great Britain Cycling Team, Para-cycling head coach, Jon Norfolk said:

“We have selected a really strong squad for the worlds and first and foremost we’ll be looking to bring home as many rainbow jerseys and medals as possible from the championships.

“However in a Paralympic year we can’t overlook the importance of scoring as many qualification points as possible so it’s a large squad that travels with a number of riders competing in a range of events as we look to secure the maximum amount of places we can for the Paralympic Games.

“There are also some new faces in the squad, like Kadeena Cox and James Ball, who will be competing at this level for the first time in their careers so it will be great to see how they fare against the world’s best riders.”

Great Britain Cycling Team (including events):

Lora Turnham (WB) piloted by Corrine Hall

Sophie Thornhill (WB) piloted by Helen Scott

Kadeena Cox (WC2)

Sally Hurst (WC2)

Megan Giglia (WC3)

Liz Saul (WC4)

Crystal Lane (WC5)

Sarah Storey (WC5)

James Ball (MB) piloted by Craig MacLean

Neil Fachie (MB) piloted by Pete Mitchell

Steve Bate (MB) piloted by Adam Duggleby

Louis Rolfe (MC2)

Jaco Van Gass (MC4)

Jody Cundy (MC4)

Jon-Allan Butterworth (MC5)

Jon Gildea (MC5)