Best of British headed to Redcar and Cleveland for National Road Championships

Best of British headed to Redcar and Cleveland for National Road Championships

Home » Road racing » British Road Championships

Geraint Thomas, Elinor Barker, Fred Wright and Pfeiffer Georgi have today been named amongst the riders set to compete for the coveted national champions’ jerseys at this year’s British National Road Championships, which will take place in Redcar and Cleveland from Wednesday 21 – Sunday 25 June.

Returning 2022 national champions Georgi, Alice Towers, Sam Watson, Matt Bostock, Josie Nelson and Leo Hayter will all feature, as the time-trial, circuit and road championships are brought together once again into an unmissable week of racing. In total, there will be of 37 WorldTour and Women’s WorldTour riders competing across the three events. You can find a full rider list for the event here.

Ineos Grenadiers rider Thomas said:

“I’m really thrilled to be back and racing at Nationals, which will be the first time for me in the road race, at least, in about 10 years. It looks like a tough course that will make it a very hard race. It’s going to be great to be back out and racing after recently completing the Giro d’Italia – I can’t wait to get out there!"

Bahrain Victorious rider Wright, who was second to Ben Swift in the 2021 road race, said:

“I’m really excited to race at nationals this year. The National Championships are always really special and the fields for both the men’s and the women’s races this year are stacked. It will be amazing to ride on UK roads – the cycling fans here are some of the best in the world and it will be great to have people cheering from the roadside. They will be in for some top-level racing, for sure.”

Towers, who was a shock winner of the road race in 2022 and has since joined Women’s WorldTour team Canyon–SRAM, added:

“I can’t wait to be back on the start line of the National Championships again this year. Last year’s race was a day to remember and wearing the jersey all year has been a dream come true – it’s flown by!”



The championships begin with the time-trials on Wednesday 21 June at Croft Motor Circuit in North Yorkshire, where the 2021 and 2022 silver and bronze medallists Dan Bigham and James Shaw will do battle once more over three laps to make 41.1km.

They will be joined by last year’s under-23 time-trial winner Leo Hayter, though brother Ethan is expected to miss the championships following a crash at the Critérium du Dauphiné. A stacked men’s field will also see Commonwealth time-trial medallists Thomas and Wright challenging for the top step of the podium.

In the women’s event, 2022 bronze medallist Lizzie Holden will have her eyes on the national title, racing over two laps and 27.4km, but will face fierce competition from last year’s under-23 winner Georgi, who has since moved up to the elite ranks.

Both the men’s and women’s under-23s will also tackle 27.4km, with Callum Thornley amongst the favourites in the men’s as the 2022 silver medallist, while Lucy Gadd and Kate Richardson will be ones to watch in the women’s.

matt bostock


Crit specialist Matt Bostock will be looking to defend his national title from Kirkcudbright last year, but will be challenged by the full force of Saint Piran, with local favourite Charlie Tanfield, Will Tidball and Rhys Britton all ones to watch. Ineos Grenadiers’ Luke Rowe and Josh Tarling will add further intrigue to the race, along with Groupama-FDJ’s Lewis Askey and Sam Watson, with Watson and Tarling taking podiums at last year’s event.

In the women’s race, 2022 silver medallist Emma Jeffers will be looking to go one better this year on the 1km circuit in Redcar, to add to her impressive list of wins at the 2022 Tour Series and National Circuit Series. Having moved off junior gears this year Jeffers’ sprint will be tough to match, but she faces stiff competition from 2021 winner Jo Tindley, Jenny Holl, Sammie Stuart and Josie Knight.



Geraint Thomas leads the favourites for this year’s men’s road race in Saltburn, after a sensational second place at the Giro d’Italia. Thomas will be joined by a full squad of Ineos Grenadiers fighting for the national title, with two-time national champion Ben Swift, 2018 national champion Connor Swift, Ben Turner, Luke Rowe, and under-23 youngsters Ben Tulett, Leo Hayter, and Josh Tarling.

Thomas faces tough competition from Fred Wright, 2022 under-23 winner Sam Watson, who is backed up by Groupama-FDJ teammates Lewis Askey and Jake Stewart, and the EF Education riders, Simon Carr, Owain Doull and James Shaw. British UCI Continental team Saint Piran will field 13 riders, including Will Tidball, Rhys Britton, Josh Charlton, Jack Rootkin-Gray and Alex Richardson, who was third behind Mark Cavendish and Watson last year.

In the women’s race, 2022 winner Alice Towers will be hoping to defend her title after her incredible solo victory in Castle Douglas last year. She will be joined on the start line by 2021 national champion Pfeiffer Georgi, who arrives in excellent form, and Anna Henderson, with both looking to improve on their 2022 podium placings. Josie Nelson will also look to add another national podium to her palmares, after victory in the circuit race last year.

Elinor Barker is another hopeful for the national title, alongside her Uno-X teammate Hannah Barnes and sister Alice Barnes, both of whom will be eyeing a second national title. Points race world champion and Commonwealth Games road race silver medallist Neah Evans is another one to watch, alongside omnium world champion Katie Archibald.

The course will be well suited to climber Anna Shackley, with fellow Women’s WorldTour rider Abi Smith and 17-time Paralympic champion Dame Sarah Storey also on the start line. DAS-Handsling’s 10-strong squad will all be looking to feature at the sharp end of the race, with Monica Greenwood, Danni Shrosbree and Sammie Stuart all enjoying strong seasons.

In addition to the British National Road Championships, Redcar and Cleveland will also host the final round of the men’s and women’s National Road Series, with the East Cleveland Classic taking place on Sunday 1 October.

Cabinet Member for Climate, Environment and Culture, Councillor Carrie Richardson, said:

“It’s very exciting to have such a prestigious event coming to our borough, and with superstar cyclists like Geraint Thomas, Elinor Barker, Fred Wright and Pfeiffer Georgi competing, it’s guaranteed to attract international attention and is a great chance to show off the sublime beauty of our area. We look forward to welcoming the stars but also visitors to the borough on what is sure to be a fantastic occasion.”

You can find the route information here.