Vote team pursuit women for SWOTY

Vote team pursuit women for SWOTY

Home » Great Britain Cycling Team

This year’s Sunday Times and Sky Sports Sports Women of the Year Awards sees the current world champion women’s team pursuit squad consisting of Elinor Barker, Dani King and Laura Trott shortlisted for the ‘Team of the Year’ award.

The award is open to a public vote this year, so make sure you register your vote here.

Great Britain has dominated the women’s team pursuit event and they have remained pretty much unbeaten since the inception of the event in 2008. In the build-up to the London Olympic Games, the line-up of Laura Trott, Dani King and Joanna Rowsell broke the world record on six consecutive occasions, culminating in the gold medal ride which they won by over five seconds.

From there, the trio of Laura, Dani and Elinor Barker went on to win the World Championship title in Minsk, a result which makes them worthy contenders for the 2013 Team of the Year award.

Since the world championships, the format for the women’s team pursuit has changed to a four women/ four-kilometre event, but this hasn’t fazed the girls who have shown resilience and strength so far this season.

Joanna Rowsell has been welcomed back to the squad along with new recruit Katie Archibald and together the squad continue their dominance, taking both the European and world cup round 1 crowns as well as holding the current world record in the event.

Great Britain Cycling Team’s Becky James is shortlisted for both the Sportswoman of the Year and Young Sportswoman of the year awards. Becky had a breakthrough year in 2013, winning four medals including two gold at the UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Minsk, a feat which no other British cyclist has ever achieved. These awards are voted for by a panel.

You can watch The Sunday Times & Sky Sports Sportswomen of the Year Awards live on Sky Sports on 5 December.

Shop the KALAS inspired cycling kit range