Women cyclists land major Sunday Times Awards

Women cyclists land major Sunday Times Awards

Home » Great Britain Cycling Team

Cyclists Sarah Storey, Dani King, Laura Trott and Joanna Rowsell all came away as winners from the 2012 Sunday Times Sportwoman of the Year awards.

Storey capped a wonderful year in which she collected four gold medals at the Paralympics, by taking the Paralympian of the Year award. She moved her tally of Paralympic golds to a record breaking eleven in the process.

After the ceremony, Sarah told us: “I never expected I’d win the SWOTY Paralympian of the Year Award so it came as a lovely surprise. I first won it back in 1992 after the Barcelona Paralympic Games, which makes me feel really old! I was gutted I couldn’t make the awards ceremony but I’d been ill, so thank you to Tanni Grey-Thompson for accepting it on my behalf.”

The Team of the Year award went to the GB Team Pursuit trio of Dani King, Laura Trott and Joanna Rowsell, who broke the world record six times in competition through the season, culminating in winning the the first Olympic title in this discipline.

Although the trio were unable to attend the awards, they recorded an acceptance speech:

The full list of winners on the night:

Sportswoman of the Year -Jessica Ennis
Coach of the Year - Jenny Archer
Young Paralympian of the Year - Ellie Simmonds
Community Award - Di Redfern
Paralympian of the Year - Sarah Storey
Lifetime Achievement Award - Sue Campbell
Team of the Year - GB team pursuit cyclists - Dani King, Laura Trott and Joanna Rowsell
The Helen Rollason Award for Inspiration - Claire Lomas
Young Olympian of the Year - Jade Jones
Olympian of the Year - Katherine Grainger
Young Sportswomen of the Year - Laura Robson & Heather Watson