Day 3: UCI Para-Cycling Track World Championships

Day 3: UCI Para-Cycling Track World Championships

Home » Great Britain Cycling Team
Bookmark    and Share
Follow on 
Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

UCI Para-Cycling Track World Championships - Day 3

Day 3 Report | Event Home Page | Day 3 Results |


Set 1 of Great Britain Riders in action

Day 3 Interviews | Sarah Storey | Neil Fachie/Craig MacLean


Brits round off Championships in style and take a total of 18 medals from the Para-Cycling Track Worlds

More Gold with GB's Team Sprint trio of Jody Cundy, Tel Bryne and Darren Kenny winning another title as well as setting a new world record twice on the day.

Britain scooped three Golds and two Silvers on the final day of the Para-Cycling Track World Championships in Italy, taking the total medal tally from the competition to 18 and ranking first in the medal standings.

The first gold medal of the day came from Sarah Storey in the Women’s C5 500m TT. Storey produced a very strong ride of 37.733 for the 500 metres to defend her World Champion title from 2009. Storey’s biggest opponent Ju Fang Zhou of China, who was absent from the last world championships, came second.

There was plenty of drama in the Men’s Tandem Sprint with a Battle of the Brits in the final. Anthony Kappes, piloted by Barney Storey, won the first of the three races as Craig MacLean and Neil Fachie left too big a gap between themselves and the Kappes/Storey tandem. The second match went to Fachie and MacLean, which meant saw the best of three final one all. The decider was a close affair with the British tandems nearly colliding before MacLean and Fachie stormed ahead to win gold. With both tandems having to ride a total of eight rounds, it came down to a war of attrition in the latter stages.

Craig MacLean and Neil Fachie race side by side with their GB teammates, Barney Storey and Anthony Kappes in the final of the Men's Tandem B Sprint.

Lora Turnham and pilot Fiona Duncan posted the fastest time in qualification for the Tandem Pursuit and were pitted against the highly fancied New Zealand pairing of Jane Parson and Sonia Waddell. The Kiwi pairing proved to be too strong in the final for the developing GB tandem, winning in a time of 1:11.926. Aileen McGlynn, piloted by Helen Scott, finished 8th.

The final medal won by the GB Para-Cycling Team was Gold in the Team Sprint where the British team retained the title won in 2009 with a new line-up of Darren Kenny, Tel Byrne and Jody Cundy. Having set a new World Record in qualification, the British team then lowered the mark again to 49.540 in a thrilling final against Paralympic silver medallists China. The race saw Darren Kenny finish the championships as Britain’s top performer of the competition, with three Golds and Jody Cundy not far behind with two Golds and a Silver.

Gold medal winner, Sarah Storey.

The team also broke five world records, two British records and set numerous PBs. Lead Coach Chris Furber said: “Performances from this weekend are a massive boost for the team, gaining us vital qualification points towards places in London. The standard of the competition has really moved on since Beijing and being in a medal mix now means we are well placed for medal prospects in 2012.

Lora Turnham, piloted by Fiona Duncanrace to a Silver medal on day 3.

Medal Tally


Men’s C3 Individual Pursuit – Darren Kenny
Men’s Tandem Kilo – Neil Fachie, piloted by Craig Maclean
Men’s C3 Kilo – Darren Kenny
Men’s C4 Kilo – Jody Cundy
Men’s C5 Kilo – Jon-Allan Butterworth
Women’s C5 Individual Pursuit – Sarah Storey
Men’s B Sprint – Fachie, piloted by Maclean
Women’s C5 500mTT – Sarah Storey
Mixed Team Sprint – Byrne, Cundy, Kenny


Men’s C3 Individual Pursuit – Shaun McKeown
Men’s C4 Individual Pursuit – Jody Cundy
Women’s Tandem Kilo – Aileen McGlynn, piloted by Helen Scott
Men’s Tandem Kilo – Anthony Kappes, piloted by Barney Storey
Men’s C3 Kilo – Rik Waddon
Men’s C4 Kilo – Tel Byrne
Men’s B Sprint – Kappes, piloted by Storey
Women’s B 3km Pursuit – Lora Turnham, piloted by Fiona Duncan


Men’s C3 Individual Pursuit – Rik Waddon

For full results, click here:

To download high resolution images from the day, click here:


Shop the KALAS inspired cycling kit range