Team GB completes cycling line up for Paris 2024

Team GB completes cycling line up for Paris 2024

Home » Great Britain Cycling Team

The British Olympic Association (BOA) has today named the final cyclists that will make up the 30-strong squad to represent Team GB at the Paris 2024 Olympic Games.

The 12 athletes announced include seven Olympic medallists and five debutants from the BMX racing, BMX freestyle park, track and road disciplines, with parity in the number of male and female riders representing Team GB across the full squad. 

World Champion Kieran Reilly will take his trademark flair and awe-inspiring tricks to the park in Paris, having secured his individual spot to the Games through two third place performances in the new Olympic Qualifying Series (OQS).

Joining him in Paris will be reigning Olympic Champion Charlotte Worthington, who won gold in Tokyo with a groundbreaking performance which saw her become the first woman ever to land a 360 backflip.

BMX racing Olympic Champion Beth Shriever will defend the women’s title having recovered from a recent collarbone injury. Since her Olympic debut in Tokyo, Shriever has become a double World Champion, and will head to Paris looking to add more silverware to her collection. Olympic silver medallist Kye Whyte will represent Team GB in the men’s event, having also recovered from a recent injury sustained at the 2024 World Championship.

Lizzie Deignan will take to the start line for an impressive fourth Olympic Games in the women’s road race, heading up a team which also features three-time National Champion Pfeiffer Georgi, National time-trial Champion Anna Henderson, and Anna Morris.

Over on the track, Elinor Barker will represent Team GB in the endurance events at her third Games, while Neah Evans and Josie Knight will both return to the Games for a second time in the Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines Velodrome. Debutants Anna Morris and Jess Roberts will join the experienced team as they look to better their team pursuit silver medal from Tokyo.

Team GB Chef de Mission, Mark England OBE, said: “BMX freestyle and racing captured the nation’s imagination in Tokyo, and I am delighted to welcome back Beth, Charlotte and Kye to Team GB, whilst we warmly welcome Kieran for his first Olympic Games with us. A huge congratulations to Lizzie for what will be her fourth Games appearance, and along with Pfeiffer, and both Anna Henderson and Anna Morris, we are eagerly anticipating what awaits these four brilliant cyclists on the road in Paris.

“Finally, we are very proud of Team GB’s extraordinary record in the velodrome over recent Olympic Games. We are delighted to have Elinor, Josie, and Neah returning to Team GB this summer, as well as Jess Roberts who will be making her Games debut. We have every confidence that this team can continue our formidable run on the track this summer in Paris.”

Performance Director for the Great Britain Cycling Team, Stephen Park CBE, said: “I’m hugely excited for each of and every one of the riders we have announced today to represent Team GB in Paris, which completes our team selection for the Games.

“We’re blessed with an incredible depth of talent and experience across all five of the cycling disciplines, and I know that the squad will benefit hugely from the likes of Lizzie Deignan and Elinor Barker who will join us for their fourth and third Games respectively. 

“Achieving gender parity across the squad is something we’ve been working towards for a number of years, and I’m hugely proud of the work our support staff have done to support our three mums on the squad, who are blazing a trail for women at the highest level of elite sport. 

“Our riders have delivered some of the most iconic and memorable Olympic moments of recent times, and I have every faith that our riders can inspire the nation once again at Paris 2024.”

Team GB cycling team:

Men’s BMX Freestyle Park

Kieran Reilly

Women’s BMX Freestyle Park

Charlotte Worthington

Men’s BMX Racing

Kye Whyte
Ross Cullen (travelling reserve)

Women’s BMX Racing

Beth Shriever
Emily Hutt (travelling reserve)

Women’s road

Lizzie Deignan
Pfeiffer Georgi
Anna Henderson (TT/RR)
Anna Morris

Women’s track endurance

Elinor Barker
Neah Evans
Josie Knight
Anna Morris
Jess Roberts
Meg Barker (travelling reserve)

Men’s mountain bike

Charlie Aldridge
Tom Pidcock

Women’s mountain bike

Ella Maclean-Howell
Evie Richards

Men’s road

Ethan Hayter (TT)
Tom Pidcock
Josh Tarling (TT/RR)
Stevie Williams
Fred Wright

Men’s track endurance

Dan Bigham
Ethan Hayter
Charlie Tanfield
Ethan Vernon
Ollie Wood
Mark Stewart (travelling reserve)

Men’s track sprint

Jack Carlin
Ed Lowe
Hamish Turnbull
Joe Truman (travelling reserve)

Women’s track sprint

Sophie Capewell
Emma Finucane
Katy Marchant
Lowri Thomas (travelling reserve)