British Cycling announces squad for 2022 European Championships in Munich

British Cycling announces squad for 2022 European Championships in Munich

Home » Great Britain Cycling Team

British Cycling has today announced the track, mountain bike, and BMX freestyle park riders that will compete at the 2022 European Championships in Munich, which start this week.

The multi-sport event take place straight off the back of the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, where a total of 30 cycling medals were won by the home nations.


The event starts with the track cycling from Thursday 11 – Tuesday 16 August, where double Commonwealth medallist Sophie Capewell will be looking to add a European podium following her success in the keirin and 500m time trial at Lee Valley VeloPark. Capewell will be joined by Commonwealth sprint bronze medallist Emma Finucane, and former British champion Lauren Bell.

The women’s endurance team will be led by Tokyo team pursuit silver medallists Josie Knight and Neah Evans, where they will be joined by Tour de France Femmes rider Pfeiffer Georgi, who makes a rare appearance on the track. Jess Roberts, Ella Barnwell and Anna Morris complete the team.

Olympic silver medallist Jack Carlin excelled at the Commonwealth Games, taking a bronze in the sprint and silver in the keirin, and he will be joined by fellow Scotsman Alistair Fielding and Commonwealth silver medallist in the team sprint, Hamish Turnbull.

The men’s track endurance events will see Oliver Wood and Charlie Tanfield return to the boards after their silver medal success in the team pursuit at Birmingham 2022. They will be joined by 2021 world championships bronze medallist Rhys Britton, Will Tidball, Will Perrett, and Kian Emadi.

BMX freestyle park

The BMX freestyle park events will take place from Thursday 11 – Saturday 13 August, and Tokyo Olympic champion Charlotte Worthington will be looking to claim another European gold after taking the title in 2019. Fellow Tokyo medallist Declan Brooks will also be competing in the Olympiaberg, with Sasha Pardoe, Kieran Reilly, and Shan Gornall completing the line-up.

Mountain bike

Taking place on Friday 19 and Saturday 20 August, Olympic gold medallist and Tour de France stage winner Tom Pidcock will lead the mountain bike squad, with hopes of adding a European mountain bike title to his growing palmares. Pidcock will be joined by cross-country national champion Cameron Orr, while Isla Short will be the sole British entrant in the women’s event.

Great Britain Cycling Team Performance Director, Stephen Park CBE, said:

“Coming off the back of an incredibly successful Commonwealth Games, our athletes are ready and raring to go once again as they build towards their respective world championships later in the year.

“Across the track, mountain bike and BMX freestyle park disciplines we have a fantastic depth of talent and I’m pleased to see a number of riders stepping up to the senior squads to make their debuts.

“Munich is renowned as a magnificent city for sport and we’re pleased that fans at home will be able to follow our riders’ progress through more live coverage on the BBC, in what has already been a memorable summer of British sporting success.”

Find out more about the 2022 European Championships, including the full schedule and results, here.


Men’s endurance

Rhys Britton

Kian Emadi

Will Perrett

Charlie Tanfield

Will Tidball

Ollie Wood

Women’s endurance

Ella Barnwell

Neah Evans

Josie Knight

Pfeiffer Georgi

Anna Morris

Jess Roberts

Men’s Sprint

Jack Carlin

Alistair Fielding

Hamish Turnbull

Women’s sprint

Lauren Bell

Sophie Capewell

Emma Finucane

BMX Freestyle


Declan Brooks

Shaun Gornall

Kieran Reilly


Charlotte Worthington

Sasha Pardoe



Cam Orr

Tom Pidcock


Isla Short