Archibald and Kenny to lead the Great Britain Cycling Team at the Tissot UCI Track Nations Cup in Glasgow

Archibald and Kenny to lead the Great Britain Cycling Team at the Tissot UCI Track Nations Cup in Glasgow

Home » Great Britain Cycling Team

Tokyo Olympic gold medallists Katie Archibald and Dame Laura Kenny will lead the Great Britain Cycling Team at this month’s UCI Track Nations Cup in Glasgow, as the team makes its first appearance on UK soil since last summer’s Olympic Games.

Buy tickets

Archibald and Kenny blazed to victory with a dominant performance in the Madison in Tokyo, and will be joined by team pursuit silver medal teammate Neah Evans. Megan Barker, Ella Barnwell, Maddie Leech, Sophie Lewis and Jess Roberts complete the women’s endurance line-up. Archibald begins this year’s racing in fine form after winning three European and one world title in October, including consecutive omnium victories.

Jack Carlin returned from his first Olympic Games with a team sprint silver and individual sprint bronze, and the Paisley-born rider will head to Glasgow in fine form after securing a hat-trick of sprint titles at last month’s British National Track Championships in Newport. He’ll be joined by Joe Truman, Ryan Owens and Tissot UCI Track Nations Cup debutants Ali Fielding, Hayden Norris and Hamish Turnbull.

The young women’s sprint quartet of Lauren Bate, Sophie Capewell, Blaine Ridge Davis and Milly Tanner will look to continue their impressive recent trajectory in Glasgow, after ending 2021 with a historic bronze medal at the UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Roubaix. This year’s Tissot UCI Track Nations Cup series will for the first time see three riders contest the women’s team sprint, bringing it in line with the men’s event. Iona Moir, Lauren Bell and Lusia Steel complete the squad.

Matt Walls makes his first return to the track since winning omnium gold in Tokyo, and will be joined by Tokyo team pursuit riders Charlie Tanfield, Ethan Vernon and Ollie Wood, and world scratch race bronze medallist Rhys Britton. Also in the squad are Josh Giddings, Josh Charlton, Oscar Nilson-Julien, Josh Tarling and Will Tidball.

Ahead of the announcement, double Olympic champion Katie Archibald said:

“I’ve got so many great memories of riding and competing in Glasgow and it’s always brilliant to ride in front of family and friends, particularly after the challenges that Covid has created for sport over the past couple of years.

“I was pleased with my form off the back of the Tokyo Olympics last year, but we're into a new season and new demands. I've unfortunately kicked it off with a back injury, but I'm still very motivated to be in the best shape I can for the UCI Track Nations Cup. It will all lead into the Birmingham Commonwealth Games this summer and the world championships in Scotland next summer before we know it, so I want to make the most of each step along the way."

Great Britain Cycling Team Performance Director Stephen Park CBE, added:

“We’re excited to return to Glasgow this month for the team’s first outing on home soil since the Tokyo Games, as we look to kickstart both a busy year of racing and our journey to Paris 2024.

“I know that the event will be particularly special for our Scottish trio of Katie Archibald, Neah Evans and Jack Carlin, and I’m sure that the crowd will show their appreciation for their magnificent efforts last summer. Having first cut their teeth on this very track it is always a special moment for them to take to the start line in their Great Britain jerseys, and this will be no different.

“I’m also very pleased to see so many young riders make the step up into the senior squad for this event. Alongside our established Olympians we know we have an incredibly exciting crop of young riders who are ready and waiting to make their mark, and there are few better opportunities to do that than at a home UCI Track Nations Cup.”

Tickets are available for all seven sessions of the Tissot UCI Track Nations Cup via Ticketmaster here, starting from £15 for adults and £10 for children.

Great Britain Cycling Team squad

Men’s endurance:

Rhys Britton
Josh Charlton
Josh Giddings
Oscar Nilson-Julien
Charlie Tanfield
Josh Tarling
Will Tidball
Ethan Vernon
Matt Walls
Ollie Wood

Men’s sprint:

Jack Carlin
Ali Fielding
Hayden Norris
Ryan Owens
Joe Truman
Hamish Turnbull

Women’s endurance:

Katie Archibald
Megan Barker
Ella Barnwell
Neah Evans
Dame Laura Kenny
Maddie Leech
Sophie Lewis
Jess Roberts

Women’s sprint:

Lauren Bate
Lauren Bell
Sophie Capewell
Iona Moir
Blaine Ridge Davis
Lusia Steele
Milly Tanner