British Cycling confirms road teams for the Glasgow 2018 European Championships

British Cycling confirms road teams for the Glasgow 2018 European Championships

Home » Great Britain Cycling Team

British Cycling has today confirmed the riders who will represent the Great Britain Cycling Team in the men’s and women’s road race and time trial events at the Glasgow 2018 European Championships.

Mark Cavendish and Dani Rowe are amongst the riders confirmed to contest the road races which take place on the 5th August for the women and the 12th August for the men, while Alex Dowsett, Hayley Simmonds and Harry Tanfield will all take to the start line in the time trial events which take place on Wednesday 8th August.

Cavendish said: “I’m looking forward to the European Championships and racing in a British jersey again. Glasgow is pretty special to me as it’s where I won the National Road Race Championships in 2013, and the home-crowd support is always an amazing experience. I think we’ve got a strong team, I know the lads well from racing with them before, and we’ll give it our all on race day.”

Rowe said: “I’m tremendously excited to be competing in Glasgow 2018, it’s a course I know well from the National Road Race Championships in 2013 and the Commonwealth Games in 2014. I’m pleased with my season so far, particularly the results I’ve had on British soil, so I’m hoping to carry this form through to Glasgow.”

Great Britain Cycling Team for the road events at the Glasgow European Championships

Men’s Road Race

Adam Blythe (28, Sheffield)
Mark Cavendish (33, Isle of Man)
Mark Christian (27, Isle of Man)
Owain Doull (25, Cardiff)
Luke Rowe (28, Cardiff)
Ian Stannard (31, Chelmsford)
Ben Swift (30, Rotherham)
Scott Thwaites (28, Wharfedale)

Men’s Time Trial

Alex Dowsett (29, Essex)
Harry Tanfield (23, North Yorkshire)

Women’s Road Race

Lizzy Banks (27, Sheffield)
Alice Barnes (23, Kent)
Dani Christmas (30, Surrey)
Anna Henderson (19, Buckinghamshire)
Nikki Juniper (36, Essex)
Abby Mae Parkinson (20, Yorkshire)
Dani Rowe (27, Southampton)
Sophie Wright (19 Norfolk)

Women’s Time Trial

Hayley Simmonds (30, Redditch)