British Cycling announces team for Glasgow 2018 European Championships

British Cycling announces team for Glasgow 2018 European Championships

Home » Great Britain Cycling Team

British Cycling has today announced a strong line up of riders who will represent the Great Britain Cycling Team in all the cycling disciplines at the Glasgow 2018 European Championships, which take place from the 2 - 12 August.

No fewer than 13 Olympic medallists are named in the squad, with Katie Archibald, Mark Cavendish, Jason and Laura Kenny, Dani Rowe and Geraint Thomas amongst those looking to add another medal to their palmares.


Six BMXers will represent the Great Britain Cycling Team in the BMX Supercross event, which takes place from 10 - 11 August at the Glasgow BMX Centre.

Former junior world champion Beth Shriever has seamlessly stepped up to the elite women’s category this year, winning a round of the UCI BMX World Cup series in Zolder in May. Glasgow 2018 will mark her debut appearance at an elite European championships.

Great Britain Cycling Team's Kyle Evans

Kyle Evans, who finished in a career best sixth place at the UCI BMX World Championships last month, is amongst the riders who have made selection for the Glasgow 2018. He said: “Myself and some of my team mates had a training camp at the new Glasgow BMX Centre last week and it went well, it’s a brilliant facility and I like the track.

“I’m pleased with my season to date, I was caught up behind a crash in the finals in the worlds and, while I’m happy with sixth place, I think I’ve got more to come and I’m looking forward to hopefully using Glasgow 2018 to show this.”

Mountain bike

Recently crowned Commonwealth champion Annie Last will return to racing in the Great Britain colours when she lines up on the start line at Cathkin Braes Mountain Bike Trails on 7 August.

Last said: “Representing my country is always an honour and I’m pleased I’ve been able to do my country proud twice recently: my gold medal for Team England at the Commonwealth Games earlier this year and my silver medal at the world championships last season.

Great Britain Cycling Team's Annie Last

“The European Championships falls within the world cup season and forms part of my preparation for the 2018 world championships in September, so I’m looking forward to racing with the support of a home crowd in Glasgow.”

Last will be joined by Scottish Olympian Grant Ferguson, who will represent Great Britain in the elite men’s category.


The Glasgow 2018 European Championships marks the beginning of the Olympic qualifying period for track cycling at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games and a strong squad has been selected accordingly.

Included in the team are Laura and Jason Kenny, who have ten Olympic gold medals between them. The couple returned to elite level competition in April this year after the birth of their son Albie, winning a silver medal each at the UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Apeldoorn.

Great Britain Cycling Team's Laura Kenny

Defending European champions Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker and Eleanor Dickinson will be out to retain their titles while reigning world team pursuit champions Ed Clancy, Kian Emadi, Ethan Hayter and Charlie Tanfield will be looking to add more gold medals to their collection.

British Cycling’s senior academy rider Matt Walls steps up to join the men’s track endurance squad as does guest rider John Archibald, brother of Katie, who won silver for Team Scotland at the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games earlier this year.

Laura Kenny, who has won ten European titles so far during her career, said: “I’m really looking forward to the Glasgow 2018 European Championships next month, I think the standard of racing is going to be high as all the nations’ attention turns to qualifying early points for the Olympic Games.

“Training has been going well for me, and I’m feeling good. I’ve done a couple of smaller races around Europe recently – I’ve been pleased with my form and I know where I need to focus on to be ready for the European Championships.”

Road and time trial

A longlist of 31 riders has been named for the men’s and women’s road race and time trial events for Glasgow 2018, with final selection due to take place later this month.

British Cycling is delighted to confirm that Roger Hammond, former professional rider and current sports director for Team Dimension Data, will take on the role of ‘directeur sportif’ for the men’s team.

Stephen Park, British Cycling’s performance director said: “We were really pleased with the number of professional road riders who put their hands up to represent their country at the Glasgow 2018 European Championships.

Great Britain Cycling Team's Ben Swift

“We’ve taken the decision to make the final selection for the road and time trial events at a later date, as obviously we are in the midst of a busy road racing season at all levels and a lot can change.

“I’m pleased to be able to welcome Roger onto the staffing team for this event and I’d like to thank him for the time he’s committing to us. Roger brings a wealth of experience to our road squad, and I am confident he will provide good direction and input to the riders in the men’s road team in Glasgow”

“Taking a view of the whole team, we’ve selected a strong squad with some genuine medal prospects in each of the cycling disciplines. I’m looking forward to seeing the team compete in what promises to be a great event."

Great Britain Cycling Team for Glasgow 2018 European Championships

Great Britain Cycling Team BMX, mountain bike and track squads for the 2018 UEC European Championships in Glasgow

Men’s BMX

Kyle Evans

Quillan Isidore

Curtis Manaton

Paddy Sharrock

Kye Whyte

Women’s BMX

Beth Shriever

Men’s cross-country mountain bike

Grant Ferguson

Women’s cross-country mountain bike

Annie Last

Men’s track endurance

John Archibald

Steven Burke

Ed Clancy

Kian Emadi

Ethan Hayter

Charlie Tanfield

Matthew Walls

Ollie Wood

Women’s track endurance

Katie Archibald

Elinor Barker

Ellie Dickinson

Neah Evans

Emily Kay

Laura Kenny

Men’s track sprint:

Jack Carlin

Philip Hindes

Jason Kenny

Ryan Owens

Joe Truman

Women’s track sprint:

Lauren Bate

Sophie Capewell

Katy Marchant

Great Britain Cycling Team road longlists for the 2018 UEC European Championships in Glasgow

Men’s road longlist (eight for road race, two for time trial):

Ian Bibby

Adam Blythe

Mark Cavendish

Mark Christian

Scott Davies

Jon Dibben

Owain Doull

Alex Dowsett

Andy Fenn

James Knox

Chris Lawless

Dan McLay

Luke Rowe

Ian Stannard

Ben Swift

Harry Tanfield

Geraint Thomas

Scott Thwaites

Women’s road longlist (eight for road race, two for time trial):

Elizabeth Banks

Alice Barnes

Anna Christian

Dani Christmas

Natalie Grinczer

Anna Henderson

Lizzie Holden

Nikki Juniper

Mel Lowther

Abi Mae Parkinson

Dani Rowe

Hayley Simmonds

Sophie Wright