Golds for Great Britain Cycling Team in Ostend

Golds for Great Britain Cycling Team in Ostend

Home » Great Britain Cycling Team

Crystal Lane-Wright, Lora Fachie and Corrine Hall won time trial gold on the second day of the UCI Para-cycling Road World Cup in Ostend.

Lane-Wright produced a sensational effort, winning C5 gold by more than 18 seconds while the tandem duo of Fachie and Hall had a winning margin of 33 seconds.

Lane-Wright stopped the clock on 41:44.06 to pip Poland’s Anna Harkowska to the win in the C5 time trial.

Fachie and Hall set a time of 39:03.69 to take gold ahead of Ireland’s Katie-George Dunlevy and Eve McCrystal.

The men’s tandem duo of Steve Bate and Adam Duggleby won silver, as did Ben Watson and Will Bjergfelt.

Bate and Duggleby finished in 47:04.08, 1:43 behind Poland’s Marcin Polak and Michal Ladosz.

Watson took C3 silver, 35 seconds behind Canada’s Michael Sametz in 39:44.63 while Bjergfelt won silver in the C5, 50 seconds behind Lauro Cesar Mouro Chaman in 37:20.46.

Megan Giulia took bronze in the C3 time trial in a time of 48:25.49, with Sweden’s Anna Beck winning gold.

David Smith, on his return to world cup duty after illness, finished 7th in the C1 time trial, with Liz Saul taking the same place in the women’s C4 race.

Louis Rolfe finished 8th in the C2 time trial, with teammate Simon Price one place behind him.

British rider Katie Toft - also a world champion on the track - took gold in the C1 time trial as an independent athlete, crossing the line in 35:35.98, over two minutes quicker than rival Kaitlyn Schurmann of Australia.