Great Britain Cycling Team named for the 2015 UCI Road World Championships

Home » Great Britain Cycling Team

British Cycling has announced the Great Britain Cycling Team for the forthcoming 2015 UCI Road World Championships in Richmond, Virginia, from 19-27 September.

Mark Cavendish and Geraint Thomas have been selected for the men’s road race, while Lizzie Armitstead, who has enjoyed another successful year on the road, will compete in the women’s road race.

Hayley Simmonds will represent the Great Britain Cycling Team for the first time, following a breakthrough year which saw her become the British Cycling national time trial champion, while Alex Dowsett has been selected for the men’s time trial.

Gabriel Cullaigh

Owain Doull and Tao Geoghegan Hart will lead a strong under-23 men’s team following excellent performances in the Tour of Britain.

Tour de France winner Chris Froome is not selected after withdrawing from the Vuelta a Espana with injury.

Scott Davies

Great Britain Cycling Team coach co-ordinator, Iain Dyer, said: “We’ve selected a really exciting team of riders to contest this year’s road world championships.

“We have high hopes for a number of riders in terms of medal prospects but it will also be a fantastic opportunity for some of the younger and less experienced members of the team to compete at an international event for the first time.”

Great Britain Cycling Team for the 2015 UCI Road World Championships

Elite men

Ian Stannard
Mark Cavendish
Ben Swift
Stephen Cummings
Geraint Thomas
Andy Fenn
Luke Rowe
Scott Thwaites
Alex Dowsett

Elite women

Lizzie Armitstead
Lucy Garner
Alice Barnes
Molly Weaver
Jessie Walker
Hayley Simmonds

Under-23 men

Owain Doull
Scott Davies
Tao Geoghegen Hart
Alex Peters
Gabriel Cullaigh

Junior men

Nathan Draper
Joey Walker
Joe Holt

Junior women

Lizzie Holden
Grace Garner
Abby Mae Parkinson
Ellie Dickinson