Great Britain Cycling Team athletes included in Team Scotland squad for Commonwealth Games

Home » Great Britain Cycling Team

Team Scotland have named seven Great Britain Cycling Team athletes in its squad for the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

Team pursuit world champion Katie Archibald will compete on both the track and road.

Paralympic gold medallists Craig McLean and Neil Fachie along with Callum Skinner will join Archibald at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome.

Grant Ferguson and Kenta Gallagher have been selected for the mountain bike competition at Cathkin Braes Mountain Bike Trails.

Ferguson will join Andy Fenn in the road race through the centre of Glasgow. Fenn will also compete in the time-trial.

A total of 30 cyclists - 16 men and 14 women - have been named in the squad that will compete for the 23 gold medals available across the three disciplines.

Gary Coltman, Scottish Cycling’s head of performance, said: “Scottish Cycling is delighted to announce its largest ever cycling team for the 2014 Commonwealth Games.

“Since the Commonwealth Games in Delhi there has been a dramatic rise in participation in cycling throughout Scotland and the rest of the UK and I’m delighted to announce some exciting, emerging talent as part of our team for Glasgow.

Track cycling runs from 24-27 July at the velodrome named after Hoy, who won four medals competing for Scotland at the Commonwealth Games.

Cross-country mountain bike follows on the 29 July at the course where Scots Ferguson and Lee Craigie won national titles in 2013.

The final medals in cycling will be handed out on the road with the time-trials on the 31 July and road races on 3 August.

Team Scotland squad for the 2014 Commonwealth Games


Jonathon Biggin (track sprint)
Bruce Croall (track sprint)
Neil Fachie (track para-cycling)
Andy Fenn (time-trial, road race)
Grant Ferguson (mountain bike cross-country, road race)
Kenta Gallagher (mountain bike cross-country)
James McCallum (track endurance, road race)
Craig McLean (track para-cycling pilot)
David Millar (time-trial, road race)
Gareth Montgomerie (mountain bike cross-country)
Evan Oliphant (track endurance, road race)
John Paul (track sprint)
Christopher Pritchard (track sprint)
Alistair Rutherford (track endurance)
Callum Skinner (track sprint)
Mark Stewart (track endurance)


Katie Archibald (track endurance, time-trial, road race)
Laura Cluxton (track para-cycling)
Lee Craigie (mountain bike cross-country)
Jenny Davis (track sprint)
Fiona Duncan (track para-cycling pilot)
Anne Ewing (road race)
Louise Haston (track para-cycling pilot)
Charline Joiner (track endurance, road race)
Aileen McGlynn (track para-cycling)
Eleanor Richardson (track sprint)
Jessica Roberts (mountain bike cross-country)
Eileen Roe (track endurance, road race)
Claire Thomas (road race)
Anna Turvey (track endurance, time-trial)

Shop the KALAS inspired cycling kit range