We have a new website Try it now Hide
 Login Register for free news, tips & videos

Great Britain to start BMX Olympic qualification at UEC BMX European League

Share |

UCI Olympic BMX qualification rules | UEC BMX European League start list | Get into BMX
Published: 19 May 2014

Kyle Evans in action at the Manchester round of the UCI BMX Supercross World Cup

British Cycling has announced the Great Britain Cycling Team for the UEC BMX European League Rounds 7 and 8 in Klazienaveen, Netherlands from 31 May-1 June.

Liam Phillips, Kyle Evans, Tre Whyte and Charlotte Green will race in the first event of the 2016 Olympic qualification process.

The qualification period for BMX runs from 31 May 2014 until 30 May 2016 with nations able to attain a maximum of three male and two female riders for the Rio Olympic Games.

The number of places awarded is based on a nation’s UCI Olympic qualification ranking.

World champion Phillips currently leads the UCI BMX Supercross World Cup rankings after two events.

All four riders competed at April's opening round of the world cup in Manchester with Evans, Green and Phillips going on to race at Papendal earlier this month.

If you have been inspired to get on a bike...