Hall and Turnham world title win crowned British Cycling Ride of the Year 2013

Hall and Turnham world title win crowned British Cycling Ride of the Year 2013

Home » Great Britain Cycling Team

Great Britain Para-Cycling Team duo Corrine Hall and Lora Turnham’s remarkable world championship-winning performance has been voted British Cycling Ride of the Year 2013.

Hall and Turnham’s time-trial victory at September’s UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships took 41% of the vote with Chris Froome’s Tour de France win second with a total of 16.9%. Becky James’ keirin world title ride completed the top three with a 9.5% share.

Voting was open to the general public who were given the task of choosing the British Cycling Ride of the Year from 10 nominations.

Twenty-five-year-old Turnham - who has a hereditary sight loss condition - and Hall were over nine seconds faster than second-place New Zealand in Baie Comeau, Canada.

The pair had only been riding together on the tandem since March after a training camp in Mallorca.

Two gold medals at June’s UCI Para-cycling Road World Cup in Sergovia, Spain started the gold rush and were followed by another victory in the world cup round in Canada a week before the world championships.

And the talented pair completed a superb season with their first rainbow jerseys despite the early setback of a dropped chain.

The British Cycling Ride of the Year award celebrates the achievements of British riders competing across the world.

Their performances in world-class competition not only demonstrate their ability and dedication to the sport, but act as an inspiration for cyclists of all abilities.


Hall and Turnham win para-cycling world crown 41.0%
Chris Froome reaches summit with Tour de France win 16.9%
Becky James writes herself into history with keirin world title win 9.5%
Kenta Gallagher wins first world cup event
Dannielle Khan wins sprint title at junior track world championships 
Liam Phillips wins BMX world championship with vintage display 5.3%
Simon Yates climbs to Tour of Britain stage win 5.2%
Helen Wyman defends European cyclo-cross crown 3.0%
Rachel Atherton storms to world title in South Africa 2.7%
Tao Geoghegan Hart shines in Paris-Roubaix Juniors 1.0%
Shop the KALAS inspired cycling kit range