Poole edge to win over Ipswich in BCTG Elite League

Poole edge to win over Ipswich in BCTG Elite League

Home » Cycle speedway

Location:  Poole Cycle Speedway, Newfoundland Drive, Poole
Event:  19 August 2012


The hottest day of the year did not deter Poole and Ipswich from serving up another generous helping of elite racing in front of a healthy sized Harbourside crowd with the scores close throughout.

Both sides were missing several experienced names and had to delve into their riding squads to complete their teams and Ipswich faced the added handicap of traffic gridlock en route which delayed the start for 45 minutes.

Poole opened up like an express train with two 7-3's but seemed to run out of steam a few heats later as first Oli Sidwick and then Ben Donohue got their marching orders, allowing the Suffolk boys to halve the deficit. Ashley Hill and Lewis Roberts started winning races after disappointing opening rides and Hill lowered the colours of Poole captain Greg Gluchowski for the only time in the match in heat 4.

Oli Sidwick recovered from his exclusion to win heat 9 and with his partner Michel Nowak settling for third, Poole held a 47-41 interval advantage. Arron Morgan was unable to find a way past Lewis Roberts immediately after the break while Ben Donohue changed places with Will Clarke to secure the 5 - 5. A bizzare end to heat 11 saw Ipswich take a 5-4 win when Thomas Reed and Leon Mower tangled and were unable to separate their bikes. The race was awarded to Sam Hearn who was clear leader at the time while his team partner was excluded as the primary cause.

Gluchowski stopped the winning run of Roberts in heat 12 and with Leyton Glover tucked in third, Poole opened their winning margin to seven. Ipswich lost their chance to pull back some points in heat 13 when Hill moved at the tapes but Josh Brooke headed home the Morgan/Nowak pairing in the re-start to make it 67-59.

Three shared heats maintained the eight point difference which was extended to ten in the penultimate race after a Gluchowski/Hearn 6-4 ahead of Mower and Stant.

The match ended on another controversial note when Thomas Reed once again picked up a racing exclusion - a decision which baffled the visitors as much as the home side!  Poole were made to fight for the points but inspired by their man of the match Sam Hearn they deserved their victory. Ipswich may not pick up too many points in their inaugural elite season, they will surely win many friends with their competitive approach.


Poole 91: Greg Gluchowski 19, Sam Hearn 16, Arron Morgan 16, Leyton Glover 12+1, Michel Nowak 10+2, Thomas Reed 9+2, Oli Sidwick 5, Ben Donohue 4.

Ipswich 84: Phil Adams 14+1, Asley Hill 14, Lewis Roberts 14, Josh Brooke 13, Leon Mower 12+3, Jordan Stant 7, Charlie Rumbold 6, Will Clarke 4+1.

Referee - Robin Spicer

Division 2

There was more drama in the Division 2 encounter which saw Poole surrender a seven point lead to trail by two going into the nominated heat 13. Aaron Smith produced a match winning ride with powerful start from gate 3 which left Richard Fellgate staring at the back wheels of a match winning Poole 7 - 3. Ipswich duly lost their 100% division 2 record but can consider themselves unfortunate as several of their regular team had to fill in for missing first-teamers.


Poole 65: Arron Smith 16+1, Luke Armes 12+2, Kieren Yateman 11+1, Wil Bristowe 10+1, Alex Lane 9, Jay Briggs 6+1, Niall Instone 1.

Ipswich 63: Richard Fellgate 16+1, Matt Hill 15+1, Lauren Jacobs 10+1, Terry Gilbert-Rolfe 8+2, Fraser Harris 8, Jack Chaplin 6.

Referee - Chris Morgan