League Racing Returns To Coventry

Home » Cycle speedway

Cycle Speedway league racing returns to Coventry this after a four year break, when the Coventry Devlins Newsagents take on Stoke in the Midland League. The match starts at 3pm at Hearsall Common.

Coventry’s return to racing can be traced back to May 2011 when a friendly match against Birmingham, for which Coventry had to borrow riders to complete their side, sparked an astonishing revival which has led to the club once again rejoining top flight racing.

The club returns to competition with a team bolstered by a top international signing: popular Pole Dominik Rycharski has returned from Birmingham on a full transfer and several other key riders have also returned to the fold.

The rebuilding of the team has seen the influx of a dozen local youngsters who are all-set to be the next generation of Coventry youngsters who have made their mark on the sport, such as Ray Oliver, the 1988 World Champion from the Whitley area of the city.

Newcomers such as Macauley Burnett, Liam McGuire, James Kirrane, Callum McCarroll, Jake Slater and Robert Foster have all acquired their own machinery and all have promising futures.

Team boss Steve Bromwich has announced his first team for this Sunday’s clash with Stoke, revealing a full eight man line-up.

New signing Konrad Pietak, from Poland, jets into the UK on Friday and Bromwich has handed the fast starting Pole the number one shirt.

18 year old McGuire, son of former Irish international Rob, partners Pietak in the opening combination. Rycharski will link with Paul Janaway, the former Southampton rider, as the second pairing.

Coventry parade a strong third pairing with returning heat-leader Myke Grimes linking with skipper Dave Frith. Matthew Lawrence, back from retirement, is named at number 7. Joe McLaughlin fills the second reserve position, some 34 years after his debut for the club.

Coventry team:

1 Konrad Pietak

2 Liam McGuire

3 Dominik Rycharski

4 Paul Janaway

5 Myke Grimes

6 Dave Frith

7 Matthew Lawrence

8 Joe McLaughlin

Coventry second team (from):

Adam Dickinson

Sam Slatter

Macauley Burnett

James Kirrane

Jake Slatter

Robert Foster

Callum McCarroll

Lewis Challenor

Callum Joseph

Sarah Hanson