Hallamshire Go Ride League kicks off at Sheffield

Hallamshire Go Ride League kicks off at Sheffield

Home » Cycle speedway

Location: English Institute of Sport, Sheffield
Event: 10 March 2012
Report: Robert Mawhood


The 2012 Hallamshire Go Ride League kicked off at the English Institute of Sport indoor venue in Sheffield, with 47 riders including 11 debutantes taking to the track.

The open category saw joint winners announced in Aiden Owen and Stockport’s Jake Read (who has joined Sheffield on a season long secondary licence to race in the Elite League). Both riders were in impeccable form in the qualifying races as they carded 16 point maximums, the draw having kept them apart during the qualifying races.

The crowd were then denied a face to face race in the Grand Final as Jake was put in an Under 16 match race final with Kyle Holland, only for the organisers to realise when completing the score charts that the league doesn’t run an under 16 category. Jake won this cat and mouse race after Kyle hit his pedal on the floor trying an inside pass out of turn four on the third lap. Aiden also won his final with victory over the impressive Luke Morton, Louis German taking third place.

The under 14 qualifying races saw Linden German go through the card unbeaten to record a 16 point maximum. But he found the inclusion of Niall Morton and Adam Watson just too much in the grand final, finishing a creditable third. Niall and Adam had both raced in the open qualifiers for a more meaningful competition and showed their experience by always being in the thick of the action. They also provided a thrilling race in the final as Adam eventually overhauled Niall on the last lap.

A healthy field of ten riders took part in the girls competition, riding in two groups of five due to ability levels. Vicky Brown was a clear winner of group A with a comfortable four ride 16 point maximum. Amber Webster, Ellie Sullivan and Billie Owen provided some great racing with Ellie having the better of her rivals in the qualifying races, but Amber stepping up her efforts for the Grand Final.

Three new riders took part in the group B qualifiers, with Brogan Burn looking a promising prospect with a consistent four second places. Two mums also took part with Level 2 coach Lisa Unwin putting into practice some of what she teaches. But it was Christine Turney who was the surprise package. Even a second race crash didn’t deter her determination and she was rewarded with two hard earned but deserved victories in her final two races.

Ellie Sullivan then doubled up in the under 12 section and rode superbly to top score in the qualifying races and then take the grand final with a very mature ride. Ellie’s rivalry with Ed Morton produced three tremendous races. Their first meeting in the qualifiers saw Ed execute a brilliant inside pass on the third lap. Next time out and Ellie had learned from her mistake in the first meeting. This time riding at a pace that forced Ed to try an outside pass, which resulted in him being relegated to last place as both Billie Owen and Josh Gamage got through on the inside.

Then came their third meeting, in the grand final. Ellie again showed great maturity to hold her inside grid from the start and move Ed out on the first turn. This allowed another impressive newcomer, Caine Moore to move into second place. Ed then had to work really hard to overtake Caine, by the time he had reclaimed second place Ellie was homing in on the chequered flag to end a thrilling competition.

Another close rivalry developed in the under 10s with Sam Turney and Ed Willis (first and second from the 2011 under 8 category) continuing where they left of last season. Ed took the honours in the qualifying races with four smart wins, including the only defeat suffered by Sam (in heat 8). But then Sam took the grand final after a brilliant start and first bend, though Ed was never more than a bikes length behind right to the finish line. Six of the eleven competing riders were making their cycle speedway debuts and there were fine wins for James Hawkins, Alex Highland and Jamie Woolford.

Multi-discipline rider Tom Scott is hoping to go one better than last year’s runners up spot in the under 8 category and started promisingly with an unbeaten 16 point score in the qualifiers. But no one had read the script to Ted Bowles who produced a brilliant ride to take the grand final and warn Tom that he will have to work hard for his title charge. A name from the past may also have a say on the destination of the title as Jack Brownell showed all the style of his dad Adrian (a three time Sheffield Junior Individual Champion from the 1980’s) in claiming a win and three seconds in the qualifying races.

Round 2 will start the outdoor season at Cookson Park on 18 March, tapes up at 11am.


Open Scorers

Aiden Owen 16, Jake Read 16, Kyle Holland 14, Luke Morton 14, Vicky Brown 10, Louis German 10, Liam Webster 10, Niall Morton 8, Adam Watson 8, John Turney 7, James Unwin 5.

A Final

1. Aiden Owen
2. Luke Morton
3. Louis German

B Final

1. Liam Webster
2. John Turney
3..James Unwin

Under 16 Final

1. Jake Read
2. Kyle Holland

Under 14 Scorers

Linden German 16, Jake Millington 11, Richard Gooch 9.

Under 14 Final

1. Adam Watson
2. Niall Morton
3. Linden German
4. Jake Millington
5. Richard Gooch

Girls Scorers

Group A - Vicky Brown 16, Ellie Sullivan 12, Amber Webster 11, Billie Owen 7, Niamh Morton 4.

Group B – Katy Unwin 15, Brogan Burn 12, Christine Turney 10, Alice Unwin 8, Lisa Unwin 5.

A Final

1. Vicky Brown
2. Amber Webster
3. Ellie Sullivan

B Final

1. Billie Owen
2. Niamh Morton
3. Katy Unwin
4. Brogan Burn

C Final

1. Christine Turne
2. Alice Unwin
3. Lisa Unwin

Under 12 Scores

Ellie Sullivan 15, Caine Moore 13, Ed Morton 12, Billie Owen 11, Alex Stevens 10, Josh Gamage 8, Daniel Rushton 6, Niamh Morton 4.

A Final

1. Ellie Sullivan
2. Ed Morton
3. Caine Moore
4. Billie Owen

B Final

1. Alex Stevens
2. Josh Gamage
3. Niamh Morton
4. Daniel Rushton.

Under 10 Scorers

Ed Willis 16, Sam Turney 15, Alice Turney 13, Sam Bowles 12, Alex Highland 11, Michael Brown 10, James Hawkins 10, Daniel Brown 9, Matthew Wigfield 8, Jamie Woolford 7, Sam Egan 6.

A Final

1. Sam Turney
2. Ed Willis
3. Alice Turney
4. Sam Bowles

B Final

1. James Hawkins
2. Michael Brown
3. Alex Highland
4. Daniel Brown

C Final

1. Jamie Woolford
2. Matthew Wigfield
3. Sam Egan

Under 8 Scores

Tom Scott 16, Ted Bowles 13, Jack Brownell 13, Rishi Ladva 10, Joe Brownell 9, Isaac Woolford 9, William Brown 5, Isaac Gamage 5.

A Final

1. Ted Bowles
2. Tom Scott
3. Jack Brownell
4. Rishi Ladva

B Final

1. Isaac Woolford
2. Joe Brownell
3. William Brown
4. Isaac Gamage