Hethersett celebrate successful year at Awards ceremony

Hethersett celebrate successful year at Awards ceremony

Home » Cycle speedway

Hethersett Hawks/Swinton & Co celebrated a memorable season when over 50 members, families and friends attended the club's presentation party at Hethersett Social Club.

All were reminded of the club's achievements in 2011 - securing grants from South Norfolk Council and Hethersett Parish Council to purchase 12 new club bikes and erect a new safety fence at the Memorial Playing Field track. The fence and other improvements, all completed by club members, saw the track awarded National status allowing the club to successfully stage the British Finals in August.

Various recruitment exercises at school fairs and Sport in the Park had helped to swell the attendances at Tuesday club nights - 75 attended during the year and over half of them for the first time. It is hoped this success can be built on to encourage more members to support team and individual competitions.

On the racing side the Club celebrated three East Anglian Champions, one Norfolk Champion and three local Grand Prix champions. Two girls were part of the winning Eastern Region team in the British Women & Girls League with Tiffany Collins taking third place in the British U17 Girls Grand Prix series.

Club awards for the season were dominated by Phil Adams who won top scorer, first team rider of the year and the coveted sportsman of the year award, voted for by members and supporters on the night. Other presentations were made to Tyler Matthews (best newcomer), Oliver Buxton (most improved junior), Scott Grimes (second team rider of the year) and special awards as club members of the year to Tim Grimes and Caroline Collins.

The presentations concluded with Peter Steward, Chairman of Hethersett and the Melton’s Sports Association, congratulating the club on its contribution to village sporting life that had seen Hethersett become Norfolk Sports Village of the Year and Winner of Winners. All club members present were photographed with the awards in recognition.