Wosskow Brown British Youth Junior League

Wosskow Brown British Youth Junior League

Home » Cycle speedway

Wosskow Brown British Youth Junior League

Bookmark and Share

The future is bright, as the saying goes, and the sun certainly shone on the British Youth and Junior league as round four of the Wosskow Brown Sponsored event rolled into Sheffield's Graves Tennis & Leisure Centre last Saturday, 26th September. Some 160 riders competed in age catogories ranging from under eight through to under eighteen for the boys and a separate catogory for the girls(12 to 17) which proves the strength of this competition.

A great end to a great evening's action (lots more images below and in galleries above)

Racing always starts at noon prompt and usually continues until well after 9pm, with no breaks (no pun intended). With this constant flow of action, pit marshalling is of the highest order to ensure the slick running of the heats: indeed the pits is not the place to be unless you need to be there, with twenty plus bikes ready to roll at any given time. I if you happen to be in the way, you'll be treated to some stern words from the youngsters.

Leagues are always testing in any sport: one missed meeting and your chance of individual glory and your team winning overall is reduced so it can be a strain on riders. It's also taxing for the parents - the ever popular dad's taxi service - but the camararderie between parents and the riders makes it all very worthwhile.

Overall team honours and the gold medals for 2009 went to Ipswich with close neighbours and rivals Kesgrave taking the silver in a hard fought tussle, which went to the wire.

In the individual championships a fine second place from East Newport's Sean Bennett on the day secured enough points to ensure a resounding first place overall in the Under eight catogory with 195 points beating his nearest rival Dan Price of Bretford(165pts). Third place went to Astley and Tyldesley's Adam Turnbull with 163pts.

James Robinson (200pts) of Exeter (green army, - Paul Whitehouse has a lot to answer to) beat team mate Will Tidball (160pts) into the runner up spot after a second place run off with Kesgrave's Oliver Knight.

A single point separated overall winner Adam Phillips (174pts) of Astley & Tyldesley and Matt Haddock of Wednesfield in the Under twelve competition with Sheffield's Richard Hudson securing third place overall for the season.

Poole's Aaron Morgan raced away to take the Under 14 competition amassing 200 points for the season and beating silver medal position Ashley Hill of Ipswich by a significant forty three points. Jack Lush of Stockport ensured a bronze medal finish with 145pts.

British Under 16 champion Ben Mould of Poole took another trophy home by winning the League's Under sixteen catogory after a run off with Sandwell's Matt Smith.Hull's Matt Beharrell took third place with 173 points after both he and Ben Mould were excluded from the same heat.

In the girls' catogory the three strong riders of the year showed why they occupied the top three places in the competition with Horspath's Rachel Edge(181pts) finally securing overall first place, with Laura Dale(174pts) of Ipswich taking the runner up spot and current U16 girls champion Amy Crouch of Leicester winning bronze. The girls' competition gets stronger as the series goes from year to year.

Consistant riding throughout the series ensured Exeter's Tom Reed (188pts) took the Under 18 competition from the current Under 19 British champion Paul Heard (163pts) of Birmingham and with stand-in referee Lee Smith of Sandwell completing the podium with 142 points, it brought the 2009 championships to a close.

Results: Wosskow Brown British Youth & Junior League National Round Four at Sheffield


Ipswich 282, Kesgrave 198, Horspath 178, Exeter 160, Sheffield 159, Wednesfield 71

Final Positions
1st Ipswich 24 pts and 1121 race points, 2nd Kesgrave 20 907, 3rd Exeter 18 694, 4th Horspath 18 663, 5th Sheffield 6 429, 6th Wednesfield 6 428

Grand Prix A Finals

1st Jack Chaplin (Ipswich) 2nd Sean Bennett (East Newport), 3rd Harrison Bacon (Kesgrave), 4th Dan Price (Bretford)

1st James Robinson (Exeter), 2nd Will Tidball (Exeter), 3rd Ethan Lewis (East Newport), 4th Oliver Knight (Kesgrave)

1st Matt Haddock (Wednesefield), 2nd Adam Phillips (Astley & Tyldesley), 3rd Richard Hudson (Sheffield), 4th Richard Fellgett (Ipswich)

1st Aaron Morgan (Poole), 2nd Alistair Lam (Stockport0, 3rd Will Hanson (Bretford), 4th Scott Grimes (Hethersett)

1st Matthew Smith (Sandwell), 2nd Jordan Stant (Ipswich), 3rd Matt Beharrell (Hull), 4th Ben Mould (Poole)

1st Paul Heard (Birmingham) 2nd Daniel Osborne (Great Blakenham) 3rd Philip Adams (Hethersett), 4th Jamie Brown (Sheffield)

Girls (12 to 17)
1st Amy Crouch (Leicester), 2nd Laura Dale (Ipswich), 3rd Rachel Edge (Horspath), 4th Charlie-Jane Herbert (Exeter)

158 Riders
Referees: Alan Taylor, Rob Mawhood, Lee Smith, Pete Dalley

Final Grand Prix Positions

1st Sean Bennett (East Newport) 195
2nd Dan Price (Bretford) 165
3rd Adam Turnbull (Astley & Tyldesley) 163

1st James Robinson (Exeter) 200
2nd Will Tidball (Exeter) 160 after race-off
3rd Oliver Knight (Kesgrave) 160

1st Adam Phillips (Astley & Tyldesley) 174
2nd Matt Haddock (Wednesfield) 173
3rd Richard Hudson (Sheffiled) 145

1st Aaron Morgan (Poole) 200
2nd Ashley Hill (Ipwich) 147
3rd Jack Lush (Stockport) 145

1st Ben Mould (Poole) 177 after race-off
2nd Matthew Smith (Sandwell) 177
3rd Matt Beharrell (Hull) 173

1st Thomas Reed (Exeter) 188
2nd Paul Heard (Birmingham) 163
3rd Lee Smith (Sandwell) 142

Girls (12 to 17)
1st Rachel Edge (Horspath) 181
2nd Laura Dale (Ipswich) 174
3rd Amy Crouch (Leicester) 165

Images - lots more in galleries above

Action from the girls event

Under-8 Category

Under-10 Category

Under-12 Category

Under-14 Category

Under-16 Category

Under-18 Category