Under-10 Cycle Speedway Champs

Under-10 Cycle Speedway Champs

Home » Cycle speedway

National Under-10 Cycle Speedway Championships

All the winners - watch out for these riders in the years to come

Future Exeter star James Robinson (20pts) took the 2009 British U10 Individual title at Bretford beating team mate Will Tidball into the runner up spot by the narrowest of margins. Robinson rode superbly all day for his maximum 20 points winning his title in heat 18 riding Tidball into second place after the two team-mates had crashed on the first lap. Robinson kept his cool to take the re-run.

Kesgrave's Pierce Bacon (17Pts) rode well for his third place, taking three race wins but a second place in heat eight and a third in heat 18 put paid to his title hopes.

Great overview of the action from Andy Whitehouse

James Harriman of Wednesfield didn't get the birthday present he was hoping for, after qualifying well: a slip off the pedals early in his pursuit of a medal and a crash in heat 16, which saw him been excluded as a result, dashing his hopes of a podium position.

Two of the girls get stuck in on the Bretford Track

Newport's Shaun Bennet took a nasty tumble late in proceedings which left the youngster lying on the concrete on the third bend obviously in discomfort but like cycle speedway riders a few minutes to catch their breath and brush themselves down its business as usual.

Ipswich's Libby Knights took the girls' title with some classy riding - she, like many of the riders on show, looks to have a great future in the sport.

British Under-10 Individual
James Robinson (Exeter) 20, Will Tidball (Exeter) 19, Pierce Bacon (Kesgrave) 17, Jack Herbert (Exeter) 16, Colby Hack (Great Blakenham) 16, George Horsley (Horspath) 15, Kane Grimmer (Great Blakenham) 15, Adam Watson (Astley & Tyldesley) 13, Niall Cleaver (Bretford) 9, James Harriman (Wednesfield) 11, Ethan Lewis (East Newport) 11, George Newman (Exeter) 9, Sean Bennett (East Newport) 9, Callum Goward (East Newport) 7, Harry Reesby (Bretford )7, Jake Gray (Bretford) 5

British Under-10 Girls Individual

1st Libby Knights (Ipswich), 2nd Sharna Cox (Wednesfield), 3rd Niamh Morton (Sheffield)