Report: Under 16 Club Championships

Report: Under 16 Club Championships

Home » Cycle speedway

Report: Under 16 Club Championships

11th July 2009, Newport Cycle Speedway Club

Report and Images: Andy Whitehouse

Poole was crowned Under 16 club champion in a rain lashed final held at Newport's International Sports Village.

Strong rides from Ben Mould, Sam Hearn and Arron Morgan ensured victory over Sandwell, East Newport and Ipswich. Sandwell's Matt Smith was the final's highest scorer but it wasn't enough to help his team secure victory. East Newport, who brought a very noisy crowd, rode well for their third place with strong rides from Ryan Lewis and Aaron Hughes. Ipswich rode their semi final well to secure a place in the final but weren't strong enough in the final to take the spoils.

Above: An interesting angle on the end of one rider's final run

Above: As the track got wetter, more riders hit the deck

Above: A Poole rider makes room for himself up the inside

Final Result

Poole 50 Pts
Sandwell 47 Pts
East Newport 38 Pts
Ipswich 23 Pts

Semi Final 1

Poole 54pts
Sandwell 46pts
Bretford 36pts
Newport 23pts

Semi Final 2

East Newport 47pts
Stockport 2006 44pts
Horspath 37pts
Exeter 28pts

Above: There's only one way this rider's going...

... and that's 'down'

Semi Final 3

Ipswich 47pts
Hethersett 45pts
Wednesfield 39pts
Sheffield 28pts

Above: On the charge out of the bend it looks like the Sheffield rider has the edge...

... but not for long

For more images click the gallery links above

Current Championship Standings

11th July 2009 Current Club Championships Standings