South and South Wales crowned 2022 Women's Battle of Britain Series champions

South and South Wales crowned 2022 Women's Battle of Britain Series champions

Home » Cycle speedway

The South and South Wales were confirmed as the 2022 Women’s Battle of Britain Series winners, while Lilly Parr claimed the expert crown in the Individual Grand Prix in Kesgrave over the weekend.

Battle of Britain Team

The South and South Wales region took the overall honours in the Women’s Battle of Britain Series with one round to spare with 188 points.

Although it was a slow start for the region with a third place in the opening round at Hull in April, it was the following two rounds where their overall title was consolidated taking wins at East Newport and Leicester.

The final round which was due to take place a few weeks ago was supposed to be held at Kesgrave over the weekend, but with the date past the end of the season, there were not enough riders to make the final round a viable team competition, giving the South and South Wales the series win.

Series standings

  1. South & South Wales - 188 Points
  2. North & Scotland - 167 Points
  3. East & Eastern - 166 Points
  4. The Midlands - 165 Points

Individual Grand Prix

Lilly Parr secured the overall expert series title on Saturday afternoon’s Individual Grand Prix. The young Kesgrave rider took the final round victory beating the current British champion Emily Burgess to take the A final and adding to her win at Leicester in the previous round secured the 2022 title.

women battle of britain

Laura Watson took second place in the series with consistent riding throughout the year and wrapped the final round up with a third place in the A final. Lauren Hookway was unable to take to the start but again, another rider who rode consistently through the series had enough points to take third spot overall.

Although it was a reduced field for the final round, the day produced some solid riding and the chance for some developing riders to race against the likes of Burgess, Watson, and Lucy Whitehead.

Burgess eased into the A final with 15 points, finishing in second to Watson in their final heat and, with Parr and Whitehead ending the day on 13 and ten points respectively, it was the final that was expected.

Track knowledge proved to be an advantage as Parr took the perfect line to get to the front ahead of the field, beating Burgess into second by a bike length.

A Final

  1. Lily Parr
  2. Emily Burgess
  3. Laura Watson
  4. Lucy Whitehead
  5. Maddie Saunders (B Final)

Overall standings

  1. Lily Parr
  2. Laura Watson
  3. Lauren Hookway

In the intermediate series, it was Ella Case who rounded off her season with a win in the A final to make it four wins from four. Finishing her qualifying heats with a 16-point maximum, the Kesgrave rider proved unstoppable on the shale. Teammate Demi Blu Harris rounded off her season with second on the day and second overall and, although Amberley Gant didn’t take the start in the final round, solid riding throughout the series made it a trio of Kesgrave riders in the final standings.

A Final

  1. Ella Case
  2. Demi Blu Harris
  3. Maisie Baker
  4. Aiesha Musa
  5. Amelia Dodson (B Final)

Overall standings

  1. Ella Case
  2. Demi Blu Harris
  3. Amberley Gant

Photos here