Report: Fred Williams Track League

Home » Track cycling
Bookmark    and Share 
Follow on
Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

Report: Fred Williams Cycles Track League

Fred Williams Cycles Track League
Event: 29th June 2011
Report: Dave Brookes
Event Details

A clash with the Stafford Town Race meant a smaller field for racing but valuable points were still up for grabs so the events were as competitive as ever.

The absence of Matty Lewis in the Freewheelers led to some less predictable racing here and Georgia Hilleard didn't get it all her own way with Joe Bolton taking first and Sam Jones second in the Freewheeler A Points race but she led the way in the Italian Pursuit with her team of Sam Jones, Rebecca Simmons and Tremaine Folkes taking the honours. The enthusiasm also spread to the Freewheelers B Scratch with George Hayes taking first place followed by Kate Briton in second place and Ed Adams (Newport) in third place.

Mark Brown (University of Birmingham) took an early lead in the Senior B Unknown Distance event but was eventually overhauled by the experienced riding of Kevin Payton and Andy Jones, however Mark did manage a win in the Points race.

Will Rudgard (also of University of Birmingham) was riding up in the A's for this evening and finished a creditable third in his Unknown Distance race. Senior A Points featured sibling rivalry with some seriously competitive sprinting between Jack Hibberd (Halesowen) and Tom Hibberd (Solihull) but Jack eventually took first place.

This week the 10 km Handicap was all about the Senior B's and all about Kevin Payton, Andy Jones and Mark Brown in particular. This was to be the order of the 5 km Intermediate Sprint with Wheelers Youth riders Ben Manfield and William Campbell Summers taking well deserved fifth and sixth places. But even the might of Jack Hibberd could not catch this Senior B trio with overall honours going (once again) to Kevin Payton, with Mark Brown second and Andy Jones third.