Track League: Wolverhampton

Home » Track cycling
Bookmark    and Share 
Follow on
Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr


Report: Wolverhampton Wheelers Track League

Event: 8th June 2011
Promoted by: Wolverhampton Wheelers CC
Venue: Aldersley Track, Wolverhampton
Report: Dave Brookes
Event Details

Results | Rankings (after 6 rounds)

The Freewheelers generated their usual level of excitement with Matty Lewis taking most of the honours in the A's closely followed by Georgia Hilleard. Competition remains high in the B's with Kate Britton, Alex Thompson, Dan Morris and Claire Fielding all riding very well.

Australian Pursuit events were introduced for the first time to give an interesting variation in the racing and produced unexpected results in the Senior A event where Zavier Disley (University of Birmingham) and Wheeler Adam Lewis were the only riders left on the track having passed and eliminated their opposition. The Senior B event was far more straightforward with University of Birmingham riders Will Rudgard and Mark Brown in first and third places respectively and Lichfield rider William Hyde taking second.

Unknown Distance and Devil races followed where the crowd could only admire the tenacity of Senior B Wheeler Mark Lewis who managed to stay in the Devil right up to the sprint lap, the final result being a first and second for Lichfield riders Jacob Kelly and William Hyde. The final race of the evening was, as usual the high point of the racing.

Time limitations dictated a shorter Handicap race than the usual 10 km but drama remained high throughout with the Youth riders setting a blistering pace. The Senior B and A riders eventually merged but still the Youth were out of their reach only being caught just before the line. Charlotte Broughton (Leicestershire) and Jack Escrit (Wheelers) deserved far better placing but in the end Jack just managed sixth place behind the heavyweights; final placing going to Jack Hibberd (first), George Moore (second) and Jason Colledge (third).

Results | Rankings (after 6 rounds)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.