Report: Brooks Cycles Track League

Home » Track cycling
Bookmark    and Share
Follow on 
Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

Report: Brooks Cycles Track League

Event: 9th June 2011
Promoted by: NTCA
Venue: Lyme Valley Track, Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Report: Chris Pyatt
Event Details

The Brooks Cycles Newcastle Track League event on the 9th June completed a full programme of events despite the forecast of rain. The evening started with the usual Freewheelers league where we saw the largest turnout of the year with 24 youngsters taking part. The large group of supporting parents witnessed some great racing with the top point's scorers in each group as follows;

Group 1 Megan Williams Lyme RC
Group 2 Ambrose Morris Lyme RC
Group 3 Luca Annese
Edward Mulroy

The A Class Endurance races saw league leader Robert Lambton, Brooks Cycles, extend his lead at the top of the table as he won two events in the course de primes and the final 10 mile scratch. He was also a member of the winning team pursuit squad along with Alex Simmons, Lyme RC, Doug Williams, Newport CC, Dave Cummins, PM and Rob Bishop MTS Racing. The other A class event was won by local time trial expert Barry Charlton, Lyme RC who showed he is becoming pretty good at this branch of the sport as he won the opening 10 lap scratch race.

The A Class sprint events saw a smaller field this week however the racing was very close in all races with the judges being tested on a number of occasions with some very tight finishes. Barney Swinnerton of Science in took two good victories in the keiren and the sprint final. The 200m dash saw league leader Ryan Whatmough, Shepherd cycles take his win of the night in a very close race with Louis Preston, Lyme RC.

In the B Class league youth a rider George Edwards continued to show how well he is developing as a rider as he top scored with eight points. He won the opening 8 lap scratch and took two solid second places in the devil and the points race. Other winners were fellow youth a rider Alex Webb, Lyme RC in the devil and Dave Fearon, Weaver Valley in the points race. The final 10 mile race saw Tom Rotherham, Sportcity velo take an excellent victory in the B class event.

The youth races saw a great turnout of 14 riders with league leader Joel Partington extending his lead with wins in the Devil, points and the final 6 lap scratch event. The other win in this series came from Paige Millward, Lyme RC who used her middle mark to its full advantage to take a good victory in the opening block handicap from the ever improving Becky Gray, Lyme RC.

League Tables at 9th June


Group 1

Race 1

1st James Duncalf Lyme RC
2nd Megan Williams Lyme RC
3rd Sam Pattison Lyme RC

Race 2

1st Bradley Hill Lyme RC
2nd Liam Zwetschnikow Lyme RC
3rd Olivia Braybrooke Eastlands Velo

Race 3

1st Megan Williams
2nd Olivia Braybrooke
3rd Brandon Mc Millan Lyme RC

Race 4

1st Brandon McMillan
2nd Liam Zwetschnikow
3rd Olivia Braybrooke

Group 2

Race 1

1st Holly Mulroy
2nd Andrew Williams
3rd Harrison Barber NTCA

Race 2

1st Ambrose Morris Lyme RC
2nd Sophie Bassett Lyme RC
3rd Andrew Williams

Race 3

1st Ambrose Morris
2nd Holly Mulroy
3rd Harrison Barber

Race 4

1st Samuel Hall Lyme RC
2nd Ambrose Morris
3d Andrew Williams

Group 3

Race 1

1st Luca Annese
2nd James Scott Lyme RC
3rd Natasha Sandbach

Race 2

1st Joe Barber NTCA
2nd Heidi Simpson Lyme RC
3rd Enrico Annese

Race 3

1st Edward Mulroy
2nd Joe Barber
3rd Luca Annese

Race 4

#1st Edward Mulroy
2nd Luca Annese
3rd Natasha Sandbach


Youth Block handicap

1st Paige Millward Lyme RC
2nd Becky Gray Lyme RC
3rd Conner Fearon Weaver Valley CC

A Class Endurance 10 lap scratch

1st Barry Charlton Lyme RC
2nd Sasson Emadi Tunstall Wheelers
3rd Andrew Jackson i Optix RT

A Class Sprint Keirin

1st Barney Swinnerton Science in
2nd Ryan Whatmough Shepherd Cycles
3rd Steve Cronshaw Brereton Wheelers
4th Sean Mayer Lyme RC
5th Louis Preston Lyme RC

B Class 8 lap scratch

1st George Edwards Lyme RC
2nd Alex Webb Lyme RC
3rd Dave Fearon Weaver Valley CC

Youth Devil

1st Joel Partington Lyme RC
2nd Joe Pattison Lyme RC
3rd James Risk WeaverValley CC

A Class Endurance Team Pursuit

1st Robert Lambton Brooks Cycles
Alex Simmons Lyme RC
Doug Williams Newport CC
Neil Cummins PM
Rob Bishop MTS Racing

B Class Devil

1st Alex Webb
2nd George Edwards
3rd Jack Fearon Lyme RC

Youth Points

1st Joel Partington
2nd James Risk Weaver Valley CC
3rd Paige Millward

A Class Endurance Course de Primes

1st Robert Lambton
2nd Sasson Emadi
3rd Adrian Adgar Balanced Performance

A Class Sprint Final

1st Barney Swinnerton
2nd Sean Mayer
3rd Steve Cronshaw

B Class points

1st Dave Fearon
2nd George Edwards
3rd Alex Webb

A Class Sprint 200m Mass standing start

1st Ryan Whatmough
2nd Louis Preston
3rd Steve Cronshaw

Youth 6 lap Scartch

1st Joel Partington
2nd James Risk
3rd Joe Pattison

A Class 10 mile Scratch

1st Robert Lambton
2nd Ryan Whatmough
3rd Adrian Adgar

B Class

1st Tom Rotherham Sportcity velo
2nd Dave Fearon
3rd Jack Fearon

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs