Road: Clemens wins Beyond Spring Crit

Home » Road racing

Location: Hillingdon circuit, London
Event: 31 March 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

IN the main pack the previous week, Edward Clemens (VC10) stepped up to take the honours in round two of the Beyond Spring Criteriums at the Hillingdon circuit in West London.

The 18-year-old, from Aylesbury, got the better of Ken Buckley (Reading CC) to take victory in the 54-km main event for second, third and fourth categories.

CC Basingstoke 18-year-old Craig Attwell scored the first win of his career in the supporting fourth category race, breaking clear with Ray Wilson (London Dynamo) and staying away for the final 20 minutes before outsprinting his rival as the pack came in 25 seconds adrift.


1 Edward Clemens (VC10)
2 Ken Buckley (Reading CC)
3 John Heaton-Armstrong (Felt-Colbornes RT)
4 Stephen Bradbury (AW Cycles)
5 George Farrell (Welwyn Wheelers)
6 Rory Townsend (Prestige VC)
7 Stuart Heade (BC PM)
8 Stuart Bettis (Team Terminator)
9 Matt Tibbutt (Wightlink RT)
10 Matt Rossiter (Durham University CC)

4th Cat:
1 Craig Attwell (CC Basingstoke)
2 Ray Wilson (London Dynamo)
3 Sean O’Brien (Welwyn Wheelers)
4 Jonathon Dods (Chelmer CC)
5 John Armstrong (Welwyn Wheelers)
6 Hammen Parry (Durham University CC)
7 Lyndull Smilenov (BC PM)
8 Creighton Varney (Hign Wycombe CC)
9 James McCoy (BC PM)
10 Brett Greenwood (Kingston Wheelers)

1 Emily Barnes (Condor CC)
2 Estela Rogers (Corvida Allpress)
3 Kim English (Welwyn Wheelers)
4 Abby Dentus (Welwyn Wheelers)
5 Nikki Juniper (Corvida Allpress)
6 Kate Hewett (Addiscombe CC)
7 Elizabeth Chittenden (Eagle RC)
8 Sophie White (London Dynamo)
9 Caroline Harding (VC St Raphael)
10 Katherine Broadbent (Durham University)

Youth A:
1 Ethan Lee (Solihull CC)
2 Tom Franklin (Hargroves Cycles)
3 Henry Dawson (Prestige VC)
Girls: Abbie Dentus (Welwyn Wheelers).

Youth B:
1 David Barnes (Condor Cycles)
2 Marcus Burnett (Team Keyne)
3 Anthony Anderson (Kingston Wheelers)
Girls: Harriet Mellor (Hillingdon Slipstreamers).

Youth C:
1 Harry Tadman (Hillingdon Slipstreamers)
2 Will Raymond (Welwyn Wheelers)
3 Kareem Akinnibi (HHYCC)
Girls: Milly Gage (Welwyn Wheelers).

Youth D:
1 Aaron Freeman (Chelmer CC)
2 Oscar Cowley-Andrea (Hillingdon Slipstreamers)
3 William Davies (Welwyn Wheelers)
Girls: Abby Old (Hillingdon Slipstreamers).

Youth E:
1 Harvey Tadman (Hillingdon Slipstreamers)
2 Tom Davies (Welwyn Wheelers)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.