Welsh Riders in action at the World Championships

Home » News

British Cycling has completed the final confirmation of Welsh riders who will represent the Great Britain Cycling Team at the UCI Road World Championships in Yorkshire, which take place on 22nd – 29th September.

Junior time trialer Elynor Backstedt will link up with Amelia Sharpe, Leo Hayter and Oscar Nilsson-Julien will be in action on the 23rd September in the Junior Women’s and Junior Men’s Time Trial respectively.  Elynor will race again on 27th September with fellow Welsh team mate Eluned King,alongside  Anna Shackley and Abi Smith to complete the line up for the Road Race.

Senior Academy rider Ethan Vernon will represent Great Britain in the under-23 men’s time trial on 24th September, Fresh from this years OVO Engergy Tour of Britain.

The elite men’s events, the 2018 Tour de France champion Geraint Thomas will now focus on the road race joining him fellow Welsh rider & Team INEOS member Owain Doull,  Alex Dowsett, Ben Swift, Tao Geoghegan Hart, Ian Stannard and Adam Yates will complete the line-up for the road race on the closing day of the competition.

A whole host of Great Britain Cycling Team’s para-cycling stars will be in action on Saturday 21st September in the Yorkshire 2019 Para-cycling International, including our own National Champion Luke Jones and Matt Faucher.

The Great Britain Cycling Team for the UCI Road World Championships 2019:

Team Time Trial Mixed Relay (22nd September)

John Archibald (28, Milngavie)

Dan Bigham (27, Newcastle-Under-Lyme)

Harry Tanfield (24, Great Ayton)

Lauren Dolan (19, Exeter)

Anna Henderson (20, Buckinghamshire)

Joss Lowden (31, London)

Junior Women’s Time Trial (23rd September)

  • Elynor Backstedt (17, Mid Glamorgan)

Amelia Sharpe (18, Isle of Man)

Junior Men’s Time Trial (23rd September)

Leo Hayter (18, London)

Oscar Nilsson - Julien (17, London)

Under-23 Men’s Time Trial (24th September)

Charlie Quarterman (21, Oxford)

  • Ethan Vernon (19, Bedfordshire)

Elite Women’s Time Trial (24th September)

Alice Barnes (24, Northamptonshire)

Hayley Simmonds (30, Cambridgeshire)

Elite Men’s Time Trial (25th September)

Alex Dowsett (30, Essex)

  • Geraint Thomas (33, Cardiff) - Withdrawn 21/9/19

Junior Men’s Road Race (26th September)

Lewis Askey (18, Staffordshire)

Alfie George (18, Perth)

Leo Hayter (18, London)

Max Walker (18, Isle of Man)

Sam Watson (17, Yorkshire)

Junior Women’s Road Race (27th September)

  • Elynor Backstedt (17, Mid Glamorgan)
  • Eluned King (17, Swansea)

Anna Shackley (18, Glasgow)

Amelia Sharpe (18, Isle of Man)

Abi Smith (17, Yorkshire)

Under-23 Men’s Road Race (27th September)

Stuart Balfour (22, Scottish Borders)

Tom Pidcock (20, Yorkshire)

Jake Stewart (19, Coventry)

Matt Walls (21, Lancashire)

Fred Wright (20, London)

Elite Women’s Road Race (28th September)

Lizzy Banks (28, Worcestershire)

Alice Barnes (24, Northamptonshire)

Hannah Barnes (26, Northamptonshire)

Lizzie Deignan (30, Yorkshire)

Nikki Juniper (38, Essex)

Anna Henderson (20, Buckinghamshire)

Elite Men’s Road Race (29th September)

  • Owain Doull (26, Cardiff)

Tao Geoghegan Hart (24, London)

Ian Stannard (32, Chelmsford)

Ben Swift (31, Yorkshire)

  • Geraint Thomas (33, Cardiff)

Adam Yates (27, Bury)