Preview: British Fourcross Championships

Home » Mountain Bike (MTB)
Bookmark    and Share 
Follow on
Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

Preview: 2011 British Fourcross Championships

Promoted by Naked Racing
17 July, Harthill, Cheshire
British Mountain Bike Championships Home | Event Website | Event Listing

The biggest prize in domestic cycling, the British Championships affords the winner the right to wear a red, white and blue jersey worldwide for a year and in 2011 the fourcross mountain bike competition takes place on July 17 in Harthill, Cheshire.

The importance of the event is further increased, with selections for the 2011 UCI Mountain Bike World Championships revealed the week after the event.

Scott Beaumont is expected to face his toughest competition for the title in recent years. Scott Roberts and Will Evans have proved themselves on the 2011 UCI Mountain Bike World Cup fourcross circuit, both recording top ten results.

However, the unpredictability of the event, matched by the critical second turn at Harthill, will make for a tough race to call.

Past Winners
2010 - Will Longden
2009 - Scott Beaumont
2008 - Scott Beaumont
2007 - Dale Holmes
2006 - Will Longden
2005 - Dale Holmes
2004 - Dan Atherton

Katy Curd will start favourite to retain her title of British Champion, but Joey Gough could provide an upset following an impressive performance at the Fort William World Cup. British Fourcross Series regulars Suzanne Lacy and Nichola Anderson are also marked as riders likely to be in the mix as the gate drops on the final.

Past Winners:
2010 - Katy Curd
2009 - Charlie Phillips
2006 - Charlie Phillips
2005 - Joey Gough