Report: Brooks Cycles Track League

Bookmark    and Share 
Follow on
Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

Young riders play part in superb turnout

Brooks Cycles Track League
Event: 30th June 2011
Event Details
Report: Chris Pyatt

With a large contingent of regulars at the Masters National Track Championships there was a distinct young rider feeling at the latest round the Brooks Cycles Track League at Newcastle, Staffordshire.

The Freewheelers races that take place before the main event saw the best turnout of the year and in the main league there were 16 riders in the youth races. Along with a number of Youth A riders in the A and B leagues there is high hopes of a bright future at the league.

The A Sprint events saw Louis Preston, Lyme RC make full use of his long mark in the Neil Potter Sponsored 500m Handicap League to win from a closing Ryan Whatmough, Shepherd Cycles and Joffie Houlton.

The team sprint saw the winning team of Paul Whatmough, Shepherd Cycles, Barney Swinnerton, Science in and Joffie Houlton take the win in a time of 44.91 for the 600m event. The final Keiren race saw Barney Swinnerton power away to a two length win from Sean Mayer, Lyme RC and Ryan Whatmough.

The A Class Endurance races saw Robert Lambton, Brooks Cycles re-take the overall lead as he scored 11 points in winning all four events in the 10 lap scratch, 10 lap points race, Team pursuit and the final 10 mile scratch. After finishing his exams the previous week Rob can now focus on his cycling inhis build up to the National Track Championships that take place in August.

The B Class events saw Neil Cummins take the opening eight lap scratch from Alex Webb, Lyme RC and George Edwards . George Edwards then took control as he won the devil as well as being a member of the winning team pursuit team. In the final 10 mile event he finished as the top B rider to take maximum points and move to a close second in the overall table.

The Youth events saw Joel p[artington continue to amass the points as he won the opening 200m TT and take the final six lap scratch. Tom Rotherham, Sportcity Velo won the devil and was also a member of the winning team sprint team.

In the Freewheelers league, which this week was a Go Ride Event there was a great turnout of 25 riders with four new riders. The top point's scorers in each group were as follows:

Group 1 Olivia Braybrooke Eastlands Velo 6 points

Group 2 James Brayford 7 points

Group 3 Cameron McNeil, Lucca Annese and Austin Scott 9 points

Freewheeelers results

Group 1

Race 1
1st James Duncalf Lyme RC
2nd Megan Williams Lyme RC
3rd Aleshia Mellor Eastlands Velo

Race 2
1st Olivia Braybrooke Eastlands Velo
2nd Megan Williams
3rd Brandon McMillan Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Bradley Hill Lyme RC
2nd Olivia Braybrooke
3rd James Duncalf

Group 2

Race 1
1st Harrison Barber NTCA
2nd Andrew Williams
3rd Holy Mulroy

Race 2
1st James Brayford
2nd Ambrose Morris Lyme RC
3rd Samuel Hall

Race 3
1st James Brayford
2nd Ambrose Morris
3rd Samuel Hall

Group 3

Race 1
1st Lucca Annese Lyme RC
2nd Austin Scott Lyme RC
3rd Edward Mulroy

Race 2
1st Lucca Annese
2nd Austin Scott
3rd Edward Mulroy

Race 3
1st Cameron McNeil
2nd Joe Barber NTCA
3rd Ellie Bloomer

Race 4
1st Dae Stigwood
2nd Austin Scott
3rd Oliver Cashmore

Race 5
1st Cameron McNeil
2nd Ellie Bloomer
3rd Grace Goodwin

Main League

Youth 200m TT
1st Joel Partington Lyme RC
2nd Tom Rotherham Sportcity Velo
3rd James Risk Weaver Valley

A Class Endurance 10 lap scratch
1st Robert Lambton Brook Cycles
2nd Paul Whatmough Shepherd Cycles
3rd Will Thomas Team Velocity

Neil Potter 500m Handicap League
1st Louis Preston Lyme RC
2nd Ryan Whatmough Shepherd Cycles
3rd Joffie Houlton PM

B Class 8 Lap Scratch
1st Neil Cummins PM
2nd Alex Webb Lyme RC
3rd George Edwards Lyme RC

Youth Devil
1st Tom Rotherham
2nd Joel partington
3rd James Risk

A Class Endurance Points Race
1st Robert Lambton
2nd Christian Braybrooke Team Velocity
3rd Alex Simmons Lyme RC

A Class sprinters team Sprint
1st Joffie Houlton
Paul Whatmough
Barney Swinnerton Science in

B Class devil
1st George Edwards
2nd Jack Fearon Weaver Valley
3rd Alex Webb

Youth Team Sprint
1st Megan Wynn Lyme RC
Liam Zwetschnikow Lyme RC
Nick Fortheringham Weaver Valley
Imogen Crooks Lyme RC
Sallie Birchall Lyme RC
Alex Braybrooke Team Velocity
Thomas Rotherham
Connor Fearon Weaver Valley

A Class Endurance Team Pursuit
1st Paul Whatmough
Doug Williams
Robert Lambton

A Class Sprinters Keiren Final
1st Barney Swinnerton
2nd Sean Mayer Lyme RC
3rd Ryan Whatmough

B Class Team Pursuit
1st Sam Birchall Lyme RC
Jack Fearon
Dave Fearon
George Edwards

Youth Scratch
1st Joel Partington
2nd James Risk
3rd Becky Gray Lyme RC

10 Mile H'cap
1st Robert Lambton
2nd Ryan Whatmough
3rd Barney Swinnerton

1st George Edwards
2nd Chris Pyatt NTCA
3rd Joel Partington