Track: Brooks Cycles League - 16th June

Bookmark    and Share
Follow on

Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr


Report: Brooks Cycles Track League

Event: 16th June 2011
Promoted by: Newcastle Track Cycling Association
Venue: Lyme Valley Track, Newcastle-under-Lyme
Report: Chris Pyatt
Event Details

The latest Brooks Cycles sponsored Track League saw three guest riders from Italy spice up the racing. The three who were over at the invitation of World Masters Champion Steve Cronshaw, with their main race being the Mid Summer event two days later. Two were current World Masters Champions and the other a medallist.

The main event of the night was the keirin Final where Fabio Alberti took a well deserved win from the ever improving Barney Swinnerton, Science in and Alessandro Picco. The three Italians teamed up to win the Team Sprint in a time of 42.97 seconds for the 600m event. This time was the second fastest of the 2011 league, only bettered by the Great Britain ODP team who recorded 41.50 three weeks previously. The other sprint event was the Neil Potter Handicap where Phil Houlton, Newcastle RC 2001 powered through the field to take a great win from league sponsor Tony Brooks and Dave Smith, Stafford RC.

The A Class endurance races saw a good field contest their four race programme with Brooks Cycles' Declan Byrne, in his first year at the league, taking two fine wins in the points race and the devil. He also took a close 2nd place in the final 10 mile scratch where Ryan Whatmough, Shepherd Cycles produced his usual fast finish to take the win.The other A Class event , the 10 lap scratch, was won by Adrtain Adgar, Balanced Performance.

The B Class races saw a good mix of winners. Phil Braybrooke, Sportcity Velo won the opening 8 lap scratch and Alex Webb, Lyme RC, rode a great race to win the devil. World Masters Champion Christine Higgs took a superb win in the Course de Primes when he broke away with Chris Blount, Derby Mercury to take the win. The final 10 mile saw Tom Rotherham make it two wins in the row after winning the previous week's event.

The Youth events saw a great 17 rider field with some very close racing. The opening block handicap was won by Connor Fearon, Weaver Valley CC from the improving Matthew Braybrooke, Eastlands Velo. Tom Rotherham won the devil and league leader Joel Partington won the 6 lap Scratch by a couple of the lengths .

The Freewheelers races saw 18 riders compete and the top point's scorers were as follows in each group;

Group 1 James Duncalf Lyme RC
Group 2 Samuel Hall
Group 3 Edward Mulroy and Holly Chatterton

Freewheelers Results

Group 1
Race 1
1st Sam Pattison Lyme RC
2nd Megan Williams Lyme RC
3rd James Duncalf Lyme RC

Race 2
1st James Duncalf
2nd Megan Williams
3rd Liam Zwetschnikow Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Brandon McMillan
2nd Bradley Hill Lyme RC
3rd Liam Zwetschnikow

Race 4
1st James Duncalf
2nd Bradley Hill
3rd Liam Zwetschnikow

Group 2
Race 1
1st Andrew Williams
2nd Ambrose Morris Lyme RC
3rd Samuel Hall

Race 2
1st Sophie Bassett Lyme RC
2nd Ambrose Morris
3rd Samuel Hall

Race 3
1st Samuel Hall
2nd Ambrose Morris
3rd Andrew Williams

Race 4
1st Samuel Hall
2nd Sophie Bassett
3rd Andrew Williams

Group 3
Race 1
1st Lucca Annese
2nd Natasha Sandbach
3rd Edward Mulroy

Race 2
1st Holly Chatterton
2nd Enrico Annese
3rd Dae Stigwood

Race 3
1st Holly Chatterton
2nd Edward Mulroy
3rd Lucca Annese

Race 4
1st Edward Mulroy
2nd Enrico Annese
3rd Natasha Sandbach

Main League
Youth Block Handicap
1st Connor Fearon Weaver Valley CC
2nd Matthew Braybrooke Eastlands Velo
3rd Liam Zwetschnikow Lyme RC

A Class Endurance 10 lap scratch
1st Adrian Adgar Balanced Performance
2nd Paul Whatmough Shepherd Cycles
3rd Andrew Jackson i Optix RT

Neil Potter 500m Handicap League
1st Phil Houlton Newcastle RC 2001
2nd Tony Brooks Brooks Cycles
3rd Dave Smith Stafford RC
4th Ryan Whatmough Shepherd Cycles

B Class 8 lap Scratch
1st Phil Braybrooke Sportcity Velo
2nd Dave Fearon Weaver Valley CC
3rd Jack Fearon Weaver Valley CC

Youth Devil
1st Tom Rotherham Sportcity Velo
2nd Joe Pattison Lyme RC
3rd Paige Millward Lyme RC

A Class Endurance 12 lap points
1st Declan Byrne Brooks Cycles
2nd Christian Brayrooke Team Velocity
3rd Adrian Adgar

A Class Team Sprint
1st Ferruccio Veschetti Italy
Alessandro Picco
Fabio Alberti

B Class Devil
1st Alex Webb Lyme RC
2nd Dave Fearon Weaver Valley CC
3rd Phil Braybrooke

Youth Team Sprint
1st Liam Zwetschnikow
Matthew Braybrooke
Ashleigh Williams Lyme RC
Becky Gray Lyme RC
Connor Fearon
James Risk Weaver Valley CC
Tom Rotherham
Joel Partington Lyme RC

A Class Endurance Devil
1st Declan Byrne
2nd Paul Whatmough
3rd Alex Simmons Lyme RC

B Class Course De Primes
1st Christine Higgs Macclesfield Wheelers
2nd Chris Blount Derby Mercury
3rd Alex Webb

A Class Sprinters Keirin Final
1st Fabio Alberti Italy
2nd Barney Swinnerton Science in
3rd Alessandro Picco Italy
4th Ryan Whatmough Shepherd Cycles
5th Ferruccio Veschetti Italy
6th Steve Cronshaw Brereton Wheelers

Youth Scratch
1st Joel Partington
2nd James Risk
3rd Joe Pattison Lyme RC

A Class 10 mile
1st Ryan Whatmough
2nd Declan Byrne
3rd Andrew Jackson

B Class
1st Tom Rotherham
2nd Dave Fearon
3rd Alex Webb

League Table at 16th June (Word document)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.