Imperious Backstedt seals Isle of Man victory

Imperious Backstedt seals Isle of Man victory

Home » Road racing » National Road Series » Youth Circuit Series

Zoe Backstedt (Storey Racing) and Finlay Pickering (Vive le Velo) maintained their overnight leads to become the overall winners of the Isle of Man Youth Tour.

Backstedt made it a hat-trick of wins by taking the third and final stage to add to convincing victories in the prologue and stage two in the British Cycling Youth Circuit Series.

Pickering, meanwhile, made the most of his earlier success to take home a comfortable victory in the general classification.

There were also victories for Awen Roberts and Jed Smith in the Youth B categories as the three-day event came to its conclusion.

On-form Backstedt hits the front early

As she did on stage two, Backstedt attacked from the start on stage three and rode solo to the finish in the 34km race featuring five laps around the Billown circuit.

She won the stage by six minutes and 30 seconds to take her overall general classification lead beyond 11 minutes to truly show her dominance on the Isle of Man.

Anoushka Minale (LVCL) was second on the final stage, two seconds ahead of third placed Imani Pereira-James (East Kilbride Road Club). Flora Perkins (LVCL) was second on GC, and Pereira-James third.

Lightfoot takes stage win in exciting sprint

Owen Lightfoot (Bourne Wheelers) won the final stage in the Youth A Boys race outsprinting breakaway companions Harry Paveley (Innovation Racing), Bryn Ruck (Bristol Cycling Development Squad), Joshua Tarling (Backstedt Cycling).

Paveley bagged second spot with Ruck rounding out the top three, while Thomas Lord (Giant Halifax Race Team) led the bunch home, seven seconds behind the stage winner.

His work in the previous two days ensured Pickering finished one minute and two seconds ahead of Lightfoot in the general classification, in turn beating Max Poole (Bike Box Alan) by a further five seconds.

Roberts and Smithson reign supreme

Awen Roberts (Y Merched Cymraeg) and Jed Smithson (WORX Factory Racing) were the overall winners in the Youth B Girls and Youth B Boys races.

Roberts finished fourth on the final stage which came down to a bunch sprint between 24 riders.

Nicola Quaye (Team RL360 Isle of Man) won the stage ahead of Isabel Sharp (Estrella Bikes) and Carys Lloyd (Cyclo Squad Ninjas). On general classification, Roberts finished ten seconds ahead of Ella Jamieson (Clifton CC) and 1min 18secs in front of Catrin Ferguson (CSP Sportcity).

In the Youth B Boys standings, Smithson won with a seven-second advantage over Owen Prenelle (VC Londres) and ten seconds over Raphael John Tabiner (North Cheshire Clarion)

Maxwell Hereward (Cycle Sport Pendle) won the final stage, finishing three seconds ahead of the main bunch of 54 riders. Prenelle was second on the stage and Smithson third.


Youth A Girls General Classification

Youth A Boys General Classification

Youth B Girls General Classification

Youth B Boys General Classification


HSBC UK 2019 | IOM Youth Junior Tour 2019 Day 3 Youth