We have a new website Try it now Hide
 Login Register for free news, tips & videos

Night of celebration at British Cycling Annual Awards as crowd reflect on memorable year for the sport

Share |

Published: 4 February 2012

The British Cycling Annual Awards, sponsored by Leigh Day & Co, returned to Birmingham’s Hilton Metropole Hotel for 2012 as over 500 people gathered to celebrate the continued growth and success of the sport with recognition for volunteers and both national and world champions.

Images - including original size for you to Download (right click on image, select "original" and save/download)

In convivial surroundings, Master of Ceremonies Hugh Porter MBE conducted guests through the evening’s proceedings with former world downhill mountain bike champion Tracy Moseley, British Cycling President Brian Cookson and Penny Knight from Leigh Day & Co, all presenting honours.

Reflecting on the awards, British Cycling President Brian Cookson said: “2011 was another year in which British riders showed amazing talent. Our established stars continued to bring home medals, and across all the disciplines many promising youngsters rose through the ranks, just as we hoped.


"The basis of our sport is healthier than it has ever been. We can never take this for granted, so British Cycling is proud to take the opportunity to say thank you to those who have contributed so much."

British Cycling President Brian Cookson


“We hear a lot about all of the problems faced by sport today, but I feel both confident and proud to say that, thanks to many of the people at our Awards Dinner, the basis of our sport is healthier than it has ever been. We can never take this for granted, so British Cycling is proud to take the opportunity to say thank you to those who have contributed so much.

“Looking ahead, there are now just six months to go to London 2012 and the focus of the Great Britain Cycling Team is firmly set on our home Olympic and Paralympic Games, a once in a lifetime experience and opportunity for all of us. We are ready for that and all the other challenges in our sport – what a year it ‘s going to be!”

The evening began with national downhill mountian bike champion Tracy Moseley gracing the stage to present the under 16 awards, with many future prospects amongst the prizes across all six disciplines.

This was followed by the more experienced 'sport, expert and masters' cyclists enjoying the plaudits. After a brief break the focus shifted to the lifeblood of the sport - volunteers, including club and event officials as well as club coaches with British Cycling President Brian Cookson presenting the prizes.

The night concluded paying homage to further champions with Penny Knight from Leigh Day handing out the awards. As well as the presentations the audience enjoyed reliving some of the great 2011 moments – including Mark Cavendish’s historic road world championship victory and Danny Hart’s incredible world mountain bike championship run – voted ‘British Cycling’s Ride of the Year 2011’.

British Cycling Chief Executive Ian Drake commented: “It’s been another fantastic year for our sport from grassroots to elite and it’s always a pleasure to be able to reflect and celebrate at the Awards Dinner.

“Importantly it’s also an opportunity to recognise those who’ve not only achieved great things on the bike, but in particularly shine the spotlight on the volunteers and officials without whom our sport wouldn’t be able to continue to grow and thrive. It’s their hard work and dedication which will be more important than ever this year, when a home Games will undoubtedly inspire even more people to take to their bikes.”

Awards Evening

2012 Volunteer Award Winners

East Midlands
Young Volunteer Oliver Fensom
Club Coach Mark Gray
Event Official Tony Mendham
Club Official Simon Bradford

North East
Young Volunteer Kyle Patterson
Club Coach David Donaldson
Event Official David Morton
Club Official Stephen Mcintosh

Young Volunteer Tom Withers
Club Coach Gisela Bradbury
Event Official Paul Thomson
Club Official Tony Gray

Young Volunteer Fiona Pegg
Club Coach Mark Seaman
Event Official Adrian Grimwood
Club Official Graham Elliott

Young Volunteer Hazel Jowett
Club Coach Peter Moore
Event Official Bernard Baker
Club Official Colin Sutton

Young Volunteer Kyle Holland
Club Coach Ian O'Brien
Event Official Stuart Wallace
Club Official Marc Etches

West Mids
Young Volunteer Thomas Lane
Young Volunteer LUKE SELIBAS
Club Coach Alan Griffiths
Event Official Dave Cunningham
Club Official Thomas Heenan

South West
Young Volunteer Stephen Tucker
Club Coach Fiona Telfer Brunton
Event Official Len Pascoe
Club Official Ken Robertson

North West
Young Volunteer Charlotte Hill
Club Coach Frederick Hewitt
Event Official Tom Greep
Club Official Paul Paterson

South East
Young Volunteer Tom Faint
Club Coach Clive Titmarsh
Event Official Kim & Preston Anderson
Club Official Geoff Hodgson

Young Volunteer Award Winners

Erin Billington
Sophie Nicholls
Charlotte Hill
Mitchell Cross
Ben Webb
Howard Clarke
Benjamin Pygott
Jack Clarkson
Tom Ward
Becky Holding
Hazel May Jowett
Joe Presswood
Oliver Fensom
Ben Brotherwood
Thomas Faint
Luke Selibas
William Hyde
Thomas Lane
Kurtis Thomas Sequoyah
Lee Fiddler
Alice Unwin
Kyle Lee Holland
Callum Horsley
Ryan Livsey
William Owens
Amber James
Maddie Leivers
Caroline Humphreys
Samuel Leggett
Fiona Pegg
Christopher McGovern
Andrew Bradshaw
Richard Bekoe
Kieran Woods
Alex Stirling
Wesley Halewood
James Ireland
Michael Chambers
Bethan Hallett
Jacob Kennison
Leon Mander
Oliver Fensom
Kyle Patterson
Tom Withers
Fiona Pegg
Stephen Tucker



Latest Results


Upcoming Events