Track: Latest results from Welwyn League

Track: Latest results from Welwyn League

Home » Track cycling

Location: Gosling Sports Park, Welwyn
Event: 7 September 2013
Report: Peter Waghorn/Snowdon Sports

The forecast of rain did not materialise but reduced the senior numbers, however the youth attendance again exceed 40 riders and produced some good competitive racing in all three age groups.

Kristian Woolf notched up three Senior A victories but was denied a clean sweep by Mark Smith who beat him by inches in the final 25 lap scratch race.

Roger Woodford took the opening Senior B 10 lap with a well-timed sprint in the home straight.

Mitchell Powell won all four Youth A events but had some close finishes with Dan Maynard and the Hillingdon duo of Charles Page and Carl Jolly.

The 13 rider field in the Youth BC group was dominated by the Welwyn trio of Tom Durkin, Michael Parry and Toby Miles who cleaned up all the available track League points.

The top two riders in the 13 strong CDE group- Lauren Higham and Kristian Manzi - were separated by 10 points at the start of the meeting and a tactical battle was expected – in the 3 lap scratch Lauren attacked with a lap to go and won. Kristian won the second 3 lap handicap so honours were even.

In the final 4 lap handicap the scratch group caught the limit riders with a lap remaining – Lauren attacked in the back straight but was overhauled by Kristian and they took the top two places. The gap is now 9 points with all to play for in the final meeting.

Milly Knight won the opening 3 lap handicap and James Dene rode well and was placed in all four of the CDE races.

The last League meeting of the season will include a Senior A Madison and is expected to see a good attendance due to the distribution of prize money.


Senior A
10 lap scr – Kristian Woolf (Prestige), Mark Smith (Welwyn), Joe Gorman (Stevenage)
10 lap AB Block Handicap – Kristian Woolf (Prestige), Andy Hastings (Finchley RT), Brian Evans (Herts Whs)
Devil – Kristian Woolf (Prestige), Mark Smith (Welwyn), Frank Longstaff (Team Terminator)
25 lap Scr – Mark Smith (Welwyn), Kristian Woolf (Prestige), Joe Gorman (Stevenage)

Senior B
10 lap scr – Roger Woodford (Willesden), Anthony Morris (CC Ashwell), Tony Marriott (Herts Whs)
10 lap Points– Anthony Morris (CC Ashwell), Tom Hinchliffe (Welwyn), Tony Marrriott (Herts Whs)

Youth A
8 lap Scr – Mitchell Powell (Team Terminator), Ollie Bates (Welwyn), Dan Maynard (Welwyn)
Devil – Mitchell Powell (Team Terminator), Dan Maynard (Welwyn), Charles Page (Hillingdon)
Points – Mitchell Powell (Team Terminator), Carl Jolly (Hillingdon), Glen Dossett (Welwyn)
8 lap H’cap – Mitchell Powell (Team Terminator), Charles Page (Hillingdon), Dan Maynard (Welwyn)

Youth B
5 lap Scr – Tom Durkin , Toby Miles, Michael Parry (all Welwyn)
Devil – Tom Durkin, Michael Parry, Toby Miles (all Welwyn)
Points – Michael Parry, Toby Miles, Tom Durkin (all Welwyn)
6 Lap H’Cap – Michael Parry, Tom Durkin, Toby Miles (all Welwyn)

Youth CDE
3 lap Scr – Lauren Higham, Kristian Manzi, Jamie Dene (all Welwyn)
3 lap H’Cap A– Milly Knight (Lee Valley), James Dene (Welwyn), Sophie Saberton (St Ives)
3 lap H’Cap B – Kristian Manzi, Lauren Higham, James Dene (all Welwyn)
4 lap H’cap – Christian Manzi, Lauren Higham, James Dene (all Welwyn)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.