Track: Latest results from Welwyn League

Track: Latest results from Welwyn League

Home » Track cycling

Location: Gosling Sports Park, Welwyn
Event: 2 August 2013
Report: Peter Waghorn/Snowdon Sports

There was a good evening’s racing at the latest round of the Welwyn Track League at the Gosling Sports Park, with a minor break for rain midway through the programme.

Kristian Woolf was on good form taking the first three senior A events – including the 10-lap Odds and Evens Block Pursuit. The lead changed lap by lap with nothing between the two 8-up groups with two laps remaining. Andy Hastings and Kristian increased the pace in the ‘odds group’ and held on for Kristian to win by around 10 metres.

The senior B Hare and Hounds pitted Chris Lodge, Steve Milton , Caroline Harding and Alison Lilley against the main field but by dint of good team work and an even pace they finished comfortably ahead of the chasing, but somewhat disorganised , pack for a well-earned clutch of League Points.

Youth racing numbers were down due to Assen week and holidays – Frank Longstaff won all four Youth A races and moved up to first place overall, honours were shared around in the other two Youth groups.

The closing senior 10 mile finally fulfilled Mike Broadwith’s dream and rewarded his attacking style - in previous weeks his attempts to break away were foiled time after time. The field this week was down to 7 riders in contention in the closing laps – Broadwith set off alone with two laps left – the rest did not respond straight away and he held an 80m lead as the bell sounded and hung on for a well-deserved victory.


Senior A
10 lap scr – Kristian Woolf (Prestige) John McClelland (Prestige) Mark Smith (Welwyn)
10 lap Odds & Evens Pursuit – Kristian Woolf (Prestige) Andy Hastings (Finchley RT) Alistair Luxford (Welwyn)
Devil – Kristian Woolf (Prestige) John McClelland (Prestige) Mark Smith (Welwyn)
10 mile – Michael Broadwith (Arctic) John McClelland (Prestige) Andy Hastings (Finchley RT)

Senior B
10 lap Scr – Roger Woodford (Willesden) Ben Smith (Welwyn) Anthony Morris (CC Ashwell)
10 lap Points – Sam Dossett (Welwyn) Ben Smith (Welwyn) Andrew Granger (PM)
10 lap Hare Hounds – Chris Lodge (Finsbury Park) Steve Milton (Welwyn) Caroline Harding (VC St Raphael)

Youth A
8 lap Scr – Frank Longstaff (Team Terminator) Glen Dossett (Welwyn) Connor Woodford (Willesden)
Devil – Frank Longstaff (Team Terminator) Connor Woodford (Willesden) Glen Dossett (Welwyn)
8 lap Points – Frank Longstaff (Team Terminator) Connor Woodford (Willesden) Glen Dossett (Welwyn)
6 Lap ABC Handicap – Frank Longstaff (Team Terminator) Connor Woodford (Willesden) Glen Dossett (Welwyn)

Youth B
5 lap Scr – Toby Miles (Welwyn) Lawrence Lisher (Green Arrow) Niall Dawkins (Hillingdon)
Devil – Michael Parry (Welwyn) Niall Dawkins (Hillingdon) Lawrence Lisher (Green Arrow)
Points – Michael Parry (Welwyn) Lawrence Lisher (Green Arrow) Niall Dawkins (Hillingdon)

Youth CDE
3 lap Scr – Lauren Higham (Welwyn) Sam Asker (West Suffolk) Sophie Saberton (St Ives)
3 lap H’Cap – Sam Harding (St Ives) Jamie Dene (Welwyn), Michael Sumner (Welwyn)
3 lap Handicap – Jamie Dene (Welwyn) Sam Harding (St Ives) Lauren Higham (Welwyn)
4 lap H’cap – Lauren Higham (Welwyn) Sophie Saberton (St Ives) Sam Asker (West Suffolk)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.