Track: Latest report and results from the Welwyn League

Track: Latest report and results from the Welwyn League

Home » Track cycling

Location: Gosling Sports Park, Welwyn
Event: 5 July 2013
Report: Peter Waghorn/Snowdon Sports

A warm evening helped produce a good night of racing in the latest Welwyn Track League at Gosling Sports Park, especially in all the main categories.

Kristian Woolf was in sparkling form taking all four of the senior A events. Luke Hattersley, the recent winner of the Junior 25 mile National Time Trial, was making his debut in the Track League and admitted to having little track experience.

But he used his strength and speed to win the opening 10-lap scratch in the B league and then added the points race and went on to take a well-earned third spot in the fast 10 mile event which ended the evening entertainment.

Frank Longstaff dominated the Youth A events notching up four victories – the most impressive was in the 8-lap Odds and Evens Block Pursuit where the two Team Terminator riders and Connor Woodford were up against strong opposition from the local Welwyn riders but team work won the day and the riders enjoyed the challenge – more of this type of event were requested.

Will Raymond was on top form in the 14 strong youth B events and leads the series overall.

The Youth CDE group has a mix of events – the two scratch events were won by Kristian Manzi, the first of the two handicap events was won by Owen Williams but the closing 4-lap handicap was fiercely contested with eight riders in with a chance in the last hundred metres. Manzi edged out Michael Sumner and Lauren Higham on the line.

The youth numbers have seen a large increase over last year with a number of new riders being fed into the system from the Alison Lilley Sunday afternoon ‘Cluster sessions’.


Senior A
10 lap scr – Kristian Woolf (Prestige) John McClelland (Prestige) Joe Gorman (Stevenage)
10 Lap AB Block H’Cap Odd numbers - Kristian Woolf (Prestige) Luke Hattersley (St Ives) Sam Dossett (Welwyn)
10 lap AB Block H’Cap Evens – John McClelland (Prestige) Josh Maynard (Welwyn) Simon Best (North Road)
Devil – Kristian Woolf (Prestige) John McClelland (Prestige) David Langlands (Fenland Clarion)
10 mile – Kristian Woolf (Prestige) Josh Maynard (Welwyn) Luke Hattersley (St Ives)

Senior B
10 lap Scr – Luke Hattersley (St Ives) Ryan Witchell (Welwyn) Tony Marriot (Herts Whs)
10 lap Points – Luke Hattersley (St Ives) David Scott (Welwyn) Keira McVitty (Buzz cycles)

Youth A
10 lap Scr – Frank Longstaff (Team Terminator) Mitchell Powell (Team Terminator) =3 Glen Dossett (Welwyn) Connor Woodford (Willesden)
Devil – FrankLongstaff (Team Terminator) Jordan Mooney (Welwyn) Cameron Jeffers (Manchester Wh)
8 lap Block Pursuit – Frank Longstaff (Team Terminator) Connor Woodford (Willesden) Mitchell Powell (Team Terminator)
8 Lap Handicap – Frank Longstaff (Team Terminator) Glen Dossett (Welwyn) Connor Woodford (Willesden)

Youth B
5 lap Scr – Will Raymond (Welwyn) Bob Longstaff (Colchester Rov) Millie Gage (Welwyn)
Devil – Ben Webster (Welwyn) Will Raymond (Welwyn) Bob Longstaff (Colchester Rov)
Points – Will Raymond, Alexi Edwards, Rebecca Maynard (all Welwyn)
6 lap Handicap – Will Raymond (Welwyn) Bob Longstaff (Colchester) Millie Gage (Welwyn)

Youth CDE
3 lap Scr – Christian Manzi (Welwyn) Lauren Higham (Welwyn) Owen Williams (Lee valley)
3 lap H’Cap – Owen Williams (Lee Valley) Sophie Saberton (St Ives) Sam Harding (St Ives)
4 lap Points – Christian Manzi, Lauren Higham, Sam Gage (all Welwyn)
4 lap H’cap – Christian Manzi, Michael Sumner, Lauren Higham (all Welwyn)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.