Track World Cup Glasgow Member Access
Track: Latest report and results from the Newcastle League

Track: Latest report and results from the Newcastle League

Home » Track cycling

Location: Lyme Valley Stadium, Newcastle under Lyme, Staffordshire
Event: 6 June 2013
Report: Chris Pyatt/Snowdon Sports

The weather was fantastic at the latest round of the Brooks Cycles Track League on Thursday 6th June 2013 at the Lyme Valley Velodrome, Aspire Stadium, Staffordshire. The lovely weather bought out the riders with 30 freewheelers and 50 in the main league.

The final race of the night, the 10-mile scratch saw a field of 30 riders line up and it turned out to be a fast interesting race with attacks throughout. With five laps to go Alex Braybrooke (Velocity WD40) attacked and gained 100 metres at one point as he battled to stay away from a fast moving bunch.

As the bunch closed on him with 600 metres to go his teammate Will Thomas attacked and gained what looked like a race winning move before another Velocity rider Andy Leigh came flying out of the bunch to catch Will on the line to take the win. The other A Class endurance events were won by Will Thomas in taking the 12-lap points and the 10-lap scratch.

The A Class sprint events saw Joel Partington (Sportcity Velo) win in fine style the 500-metre handicap league event from longmarker Andrew Scott (Lyme RC).

The sprint event saw a surprise winner but much welcomed by a good crowd that watched proceedings in National Masters Champion Phil Houlton (Brooks Cycles). Phil took the lead with 150 metres to go and rode strongly to the line beating usual winners Barney Swinnerton and Sean Mayer (Swinnerton Cycles).

In the B events Andrew Scott won the 8 lap scratch and the ever improving Steve Hall (Lyme RC) winning the devil and the B riders classification in the 10-mile scratch.

The Youth events saw 14 riders take part with some very close racing with James Brayford (Lyme RC) taking two wins in the 200-metre TT and the 6-lap block handicap. Liam Zwetschnikow ( Lyme RC) won the other youth event in the devil.

The Freewheelers races saw some spirited races with very close finishes across the three groups. After the full program of races the top points scorers in each group were:

Group 1 Alastair Kennington Lyme RC
Group 2 Oliver Butters-Peers
Group 3 Owen Shepherd Lyme RC

The night’s racing was restricted to three races per group due to an accident in the warm up which resulted in two riders coming down and Bernard Swinnerton being taken by ambulance to hospital where it was found he had broken his shoulder blade and collar bone.

Everyone at the track wishes him a quick recovery and no doubt he will be down the track again soon cheering on his son Joe.


Group 1

Race 1
1st Alastair Kennington Lyme RC
2nd George Hancock Lyme RC
3rd Andrew Williams Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Adam Barr Lyme RC
2nd Aaaron Mansell Lyme RC
3rd Sam Hall Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Jordan Nixon
2nd Ambrose Morris Lyme RC
3rd Harry Horn Lyme RC

Race 4
1st Aaron Mansell
2nd Alastair Kennington
3rd Brandon McMillan Lyme RC

Race 5
1st Ambrose Morris
2nd Farley Barber
3rd Jordan Nixon

Race 6
1st Alastair Kennington
2nd Adam Barr
3rd Aaron Mansell

Race 7
1st Harry Horn
2nd Jordan Nixon
3rd Holly Mulroy Congleton CC

Group 2

Race 1
1st Harry Brayford Lyme RC
2nd Natasha Sandbach Lyme RC
3rd Jack Scott Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Chloe Shepherd Lyme RC
2nd Lucy Scott Lyme RC
3rd Evie Davis Lyme RC

Race 3
1st Oliver Butters-Peers
2nd Jack Scott
3rd Evie Davis

Race 4
1st Oliver Butters-Peers
2nd Evie Davis
3rd Lucca Annese

Group 3

Race 1
1st Sam Williams Lyme RC
2nd Gracie Walters Lyme RC
3rd Owen Shepherd Lyme RC

Race 2
1st Owen Shepherd
2nd Olly Davis Lyme RC
3rd Gracie Walters

Race 3
1st Olly Davis
2nd Owen Shepherd
3rd Nicholas Sandbach

Race 4
1st James Turner Lyme RC
2nd Sam Williams
3rd Olly Davis

Main League

Youth 200m TT
1st James Brayford Lyme RC
2nd Liam Zwetschnikow Lyme RC
3rd Ashleigh Williams Newcastle RC 2001

Neil Potter 500-metre H'cap
1st Joel Partington Sportcity Velo
2nd Andrew Scott Lyme RC
3rd Joe Swinnerton Lyme RC

A Class endurance 10-lap Scratch
1st Will Thomas Velocity WD40
2nd Steve Clayton Lichfield CCC
3rd Alex Braybrooke Velocity WD40

B Class 8-lap Scratch
1st Andrew Scott
2nd James Farrington Sportcity Velo
3rd Joe Pattison Lyme RC

Youth Devil
1st Liam Zwetschnikow
2nd James Brayford
3rd James Duncalf Lyme RC

A Class 12-lap points
1st Will Thomas
2nd Matthew Walls Velocity WD40
3rd Christian Braybrooke Velocity WD40

B Class devil
1st Stephen Hall Lyme RC
2nd Paige Millward Squadra Donne
3rd Joe Pattison

A Class Sprint
1st Phil Houlton Brooks Cycles
2nd Barney Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles
3rd Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles

Minor Final
1st Max Gethin Lyme RC
2nd Joel Partington
3rd Jack Payne Sportcity Velo

Youth 6-lap block handicap
1st James Brayford
2nd Liam Zwetschnikow
3rd Alastair Kennington

10-Mile Scratch
1st Andy Leigh Velocity WD40
2nd Will Thomas
3rd Joel Partington

B Class
1st Steve Hall
2nd Liam Zwetschnikow
3rd Phil Braybrooke Manchester Wheelers

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.