Report: Day 3, 2012 National Track Championships

Home » Track cycling

28 September 2012
Report: Phil Ingham

| | |

Reports: Day 3

Men's Scratch Race

Adam Duggleby won an enthralling Scratch Race in a big bunch gallop from Jon Dibben and Adam Yates. The race began at a high pace and rarely relented throughout. Despite a number of early attacks, it wasn't until mid race that one stuck, with Alistair Slater, Adam Yates and Tao Geoghegan Hart making the most of a brief lull to take a lap almost before the field could react.

However, react they did and anothe six riders joined together and powered across the gap to make it nine riders all on the same lap. With the laps rapidly running out, the final few minutes saw something of a tactical stalemate as everyone began to set up for the finish.

The last lap turned into a spectacular mass sprint, with Adam Duggleby and Jon Dibben emerging to contest the win. Dibben appeared to have it coming into the home straight on the outside, but Duggleby hung on and just scraped over the line in first. Adam Yates came in to claim third, with the strong 100% ME contingent left looking at each other and wondering how they missed out, having policed most of the  main moves throughout the race.

Duggleby spoke after the race:

“I was ecstatic when I crossed the finish line. I’ve been racing since I was 13 and I’m 27 now. This is the first national jersey I’ve worn. I wanted to win one at least and today was the day.”


1. Adam Duggleby Champion System
2. Jon Dibben Hargroves Cycles
3. Adam Yates UVCA Troyes
4. Sam Harrison 100% ME
5. Tao Geoghegan Hart CC Hackney
6. Simon Yates 100% ME
7. George Atkins 100% ME
8. Alistair Slater 100% ME
9. Owain Doull 100% ME
10. Samuel Lowe Hargroves Cycles @ 1 lap
11. Joseph Kelly 100% ME
12. James Lowsley-Williams TeamUK Youth
13. Tom Murray Team IG - Sigma Sport
14. Pete Williams Node 4 Giordana Racing
15. Zac May Cardiff JIF
16. Oliver Wood Sportscover Altura RT
17. Thomas Moses 100% ME
18. Alistair Rutherford Champion System DSQ

Full results from qualification heats (Word file)

Men's Keirin

The Keirin final was a thriller, with Lewis Oliva going for a long one which came unstuck in the final bend as Matt Crampton came over the top to claim the title with a really well timed run for the line. Matt Rotherham might just have pipped Crampton if he hadn’t had to come the long way round as he too made a big move in the last three-quarters of a lap. Meanwhile, Craig MacLean rolled back the years to nip third from Oliva on the line.

The minor final went to David Daniell, a small consolation for his mysterious failure in the semi-finals.

Earlier, the Keirin semi-finals went largely to the expected script, with the big guns, Crampton, Emadi, Oliva and MacLean going through. However, there was a shock when David Daniell failed to make an impact on his heat and went out. MacLean also nearly missed out, holding off John Paul by just a centimetre in the second heat.

Matt Crampton spoke after his win:

“Today I felt nervous, I had tingles all over. You really, really want it when you get up there. I’ve not had a great year so it’s nice to top it off with a win here in an event that’s so called my favourite, it’s really special.”


1. Matt Crampton Unattached
2. Matt Rotherham Sport City Velo
3. Craig MacLean Liverpool Mercury (Dolan) CC
4. Lewis Oliva Bristol Cycling Dev Sqd
5. Callum Skinner City of Edinburgh RC
6. Kian Emadi Tunstall Whls CC

Finals Results - (Word file)
Semi Finals Results - (Word file)
First round heats Results - (Word file)
First round repechage Results - (Word file)

Women's Sprint

The Women’s Sprint Semi Finals saw a dominant Becky James dispose of Jess Crampton with some ease. However, although Victoria Williamson beat Danielle Khan is straight heats in the other semi, former speed-skater Khan impressed with her speed and fight.

Moving on to the medal finals and, although their first heat looked close, Becky James was always in control of her contest for gold with Victoria Williamson. She led out both heats, winning the first by half a length before taking the second by a much larger margin, retaining her title in the process.

In the final for bronze, Daniella Khan was simply too strong for Jessica Crampton, winning in two straight rides. She looks like a significant addition to the country’s senior female sprinting talent.

An emotional James spoke after the race:

“I’ve never had this many people from my family come to watch. I’m so happy to have everyone here. They all sat in the front row and cried. It means a lot to me.”

“It’s been a brilliant two events. I hit the targets I wanted to hit. I’m still in a big training phase. I’m looking ahead to Sunday now.”

Gold medal final - Becky James beat Victoria Williamson 2 – 0
Bronze medal final - Daniella Khan beat Jessica Crampton 2 - 0

Finals Results (PDF)
Semi-Finals Results (Word File)
Quarter Final resuls and Semi-Final Draw - Results (Word File)
Round 1 Repechage & Quarter Final Draw - Results (Word File)
Qualification 200m Time Trial - Results (Word File)

Paracycling Individual Pursuit

Mark Colbourne took the Paracycling Individual Pursuit competition with a typically smooth, controlled ride of 4.05.599 for 3000 metres. There was a new British record in the MC2 category for Mazyar Ossamisaeed with 4.37.717. Meanwhile, Sophie Thornhill and Jessica Atkinson were the fastest of three female tandem pairings and 2:37.925, claiming second overall in the process. Alice Hayden and Emily Thoday were third.

Colbourne commented after the race:

“I think for me not being on the bike for two weeks, recovering from London, and with media commitments I actually felt healthy.”

“I’m very privileged to race in a national championships for my Para-cycling team. I really enjoyed it and I’m just glad I did actually finish the race.”

“some of these riders obviously have youth on their side, I’m 42 now, so I’m no spring chicken. But, at the same time, I work very hard at my job.”

“You have to pace it like a 10 mile time trial or you hit the quicksand.”

1. Mark Colbourne 4.05.599 - 98.254 points
2. Sophie Thornhill & Jessica Atkinson 2:37.925 - 94.093 points
3. Alice Hayden & Emily Thoday 2:54.069 - 85.366 points

Full Results (Word File)

Women’s 30kms Points Race

Corinne Hall took the Women’s Points Race title from Charline Joiner and Hannah Barnes. Joiner dominated the early points scoring, crossing the line first in five of the 12 sprints during the race. However, Hall was the only rider to claim the 20 bonus points for lapping the field, going away mid race and holding off the field for over 20 laps, before finally making contact and taking the lead. Joiner tried to fight back, but Hall finished the stronger. Hannah Barnes claimed the bronze medal without ever really threatening the top two.

Corrine Hall commented after the race:

“I was struggling really early on, I really didn’t think I could do it [mid-way through the race] but I was digging in and getting the points.”

“This is the title I wanted. I came close a couple of years ago, so it made me try a little harder. I still can’t believe I’ve won it.”


1. Corrine Hall Node 4 Giordana Womens Team 40 pts
2. Charline Joiner City of Edinburgh RC 32 pts
3. Hannah Barnes Team Ibis Cycles 18 pts
4. Eileen Roe Team Ibis Cycles 17 pts
5. Lucy Garner Node 4 Giordana Womens Team 16 pts
6. Emily Kay Scot Contessa Epic 10 pts
7. Jo Tindley VC St Raphael 5 pts
8. Lisa Daly Sport City Velo 4 pts
9. Louise Borthwick Edinburgh RC 3 pts
10. Hayley Edwards Champion System 3 pts
11. Harriet Owen Node 4 Giordana Womens Team 1 pt
12. Kayleigh Brogan Team Ibis Cycles 1 pt
13. Nicola Soden Champion System 0 pts

Detailed Results (Word File)