Report: Day 2, 2012 National Track Championships

Home » Track cycling

| | |

Reports: Day 2

Kilo Time Trial

Young Academy sprinter Kian Emadi (Tunstall Wheelers CC) produced a world class ride to claim the national Kilo title with a time of 62.435 seconds, a clear second and a half clear of Bruce Croall (City of Edinburgh), who narrowly pipped Matt Rotherham to the silver by just over five hundredths of a second. Emadi looked a little shaky coming out of the start gate, but from then onwards was smooth and powerful and quickest at every time check. He didn’t noticeably slow in the closing lap and got a standing ovation for his effort. Jody Cundy was fourth, though he was a second slower than his Paracycling world record.


1. Kian Emadi Tunstall Whls CC 1:02.435
2. Bruce Croall City of Edinburgh RC 1:04.035
3. Matt Rotherham Sport City Velo 1:04.089
4. Jody Cundy MBE Para-T Cycling Team 1:06.756
5. Benedict Elliott VC St Raphael 1:07.016
Full Results (download)

Paracycling 200m Time Trial

Mark Colbourne produced an outstanding world record ride to claim the win in the Paracycling 200m Time Trial. His time of 14.177s was well inside the previous record of 14.875s. And he started knowing that he would need a world record time to beat the promising new combination of Sophie Thornhill and Megan Boyd (pilot). As juniors, their points score had to be calculated against an “estimated” best for the age group because there are no official “world best” times for junior riders. The Paracycling points system awards points to riders based on their performance relative to the world best in their category. Thornhill and Boyd were well inside their target time and less than half a second outside the senior national record for their category. Third was Mazyar Ossamisaeed, who also went near to a world best with a time of 15.092 seconds. But in the end it was Colbourne's night.

1. Mark Colbourne Para-T Cycling Team Senior 14.177 (104.923 points)
2. BVI 148 Sophie Thornhill Sport City Velo and Megan Boyd Sport City Velo 11.829 (100.778 points)
3. Mazyar Ossamisaeed Greenbank 15.092 (98.562 points)
Full Results (download)

Women’s 3000m Individual Pursuit

In the final of the Women’s 3000m Individual Pursuit, Charline Joiner went into an early lead, but by the mid-way point Lucy Garner had pulled her back and once the world junior road champion was in front, she never looked back. Joiner fought all the way to the line, never really cracking, but Garner eased to the title with a time of 3.52.414, over two and a half seconds clear of her rival. The bronze medal ride off went to Hannah Barnes.

Bronze Medal Ride
Hannah Barnes Team Ibis Cycles 3:55.049 beat Corrine Hall Node 4 Giordana Womens Team 3:57.003

Gold and Silver Medal Ride
Lucy Garner Node 4 Giordana Womens Team 3.52.414 beat Charline Joiner City of Edinburgh RC 3.55.085

Full Results (download)

Men's Points Race

George Atkins won the 2012 Men’s Points Race title after an enthralling duel with 100% ME team-mate Owain Doull, that dominated the second half of the 160 lap race.

Doull struck first, claiming a lap and 20 bonus points in a group of three who went almost before the field had chance to warm up. He had a second lap under his belt soon afterwards, though a number of other riders, including Atkins, also took opportunity to lap the field at the same time.

With the majority of the lapping action concentrated in the first half of the race, it was Atkins who was involved in the last such move, putting him into the lead for the first time.

From there on in, it became very tactical, with Atkins and Doull trading blows in virtually every sprint. Simon Yates, Alistair Slater and Zac May took advantage of their preoccupation with each other to close in, however, Doull and Atkins were not to be denied and pulled away in the closing stages, leaving the rest fighting over the third podium position.

In the end, Atkins really nailed the win with victory in the sprint at 20 laps to go. Doull was second, but that gave Atkins a six-point breathing space which, although Doull was able to reduce it by 2 points with third in the penultimate sprint he wasn’t quite able to overturn as time ran out.

In the final sprint, Sam Harrison took the five points sealing Doull’s fate in the process. Doull finally ran out of steam on the run to the line and Atkins was able to claim the title as he picked up another point with fourth place.


1. George Atkins 100% ME 64 pts
2. Owain Doull 100% ME 59 pts
3. Zac May Cardiff JIF 53 pts
4. Simon Yates 100% ME 50 pts
5. Alistair Slater 100% ME 48 pts
6. Jon Dibben Hargroves Cycles 31 pts
7. William Rudgard Wolverhampton Whls 31 pts
8. Sam Harrison 100% ME 28 pts
9. Tao Geoghegan Hart CC Hackney 23 pts
10. Pete Williams Node 4 Giordana Racing 13 pts
11. Tom Murray Team IG - Sigma Sport 13 pts
12. Alistair Rutherford Champion System 7 pts
13. Samuel Lowe Hargroves Cycles 4 pts
14. Adam Yates UVCA Troyes 0 pts
15. Jacob Scott Planet X 0 pts
16. Joseph Kelly 100% ME 0 pts
Race time 49 mins 35 secs