Track: Rain holds off for another successful Welwyn meet

Home » Track cycling

Location: Gosling Sports Park, Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Event: 24 August 2012
Report: Peter Waghorn

The forecast of impending rain kept the numbers down – however the whole meeting took place and the rain finally appeared five minutes after the completion of the final event the Senior 10 mile.

Honours in the Senior A League were shared by Tony Gibb and Kristian Woolf with two wins apiece.

In the 10-lap Block Pursuit selected teams were made up with three Metaltek riders and three others pitted against the Welwyn/Prestige team – each starting with 6 riders.

Teams were level with 3 laps remaining but the pressure from the Welwyn/Prestige group now down to 4 men was relentless and they ran out comfortable winners with Kristian Woolf sprinting in ahead of Mark Smith, John McClelland and Joe Fry in an interesting duel.

In the 10 mile a group of 6 riders got away and built up a useful lead- Tony Gibb got across to join them but an attack in the last 5 laps by Kristian Woolf and Andrew Hastings escaped and filled the top two places.

Anthony Morris, Glen O’Brien and Barry Neal dominated the Senior B events

Louis Modell was on form in the Youth A series, while Charles Page and Connor Woodford shared the spoils in the BC series.

Tom Durkin has now taken a narrow lead in the season long CDE series by 4 points over team mate Alexi Edwards

Senior A:
10 lap scratch – Tony Gibb (Metaltek) Kristian Woolf (Prestige) John McClelland (Prestige)
10 lap Block Pursuit - Kristian Woolf (Prestige) Mark Smith (Welwyn Wh) John McClelland (Prestige)
Devil – Tony Gibb (Metaltek) John McClelland (Prestige) Mark Smith (Welwyn Whs)
10 mile – Kristian Woolf (Prestige) Andrew Hastings (Metaltek) Mark Smith (Welwyn Whs)

Senior B
10 lap scr – Anthony Morris (CC Ashwell) Barry Neal (Ciclos Uno) Simon Best (North Road)
10 lap Block Pursuit – Glen O’Brien (CC Luton) Barry Neal (Ciclos Uno) Anthony Morris (CC Ashwell)
10 lap Points – Glen O’Brien (CC Luton) Barry Neal (Ciclos Uno) Anthony Morris (CC Ashwell)

Youth A
8 lap scratch – Louis Modell (East London Velo) Jack Plumley (Welwyn) Luke Morgan ( Welwyn)
Devil – Louis Modell (East London Velo) Luke Morgan (Welwyn) Jordan Mooney (Welwyn)
8 lap points – Luke Morgan (Welwyn) Louis Modell (ELV) Jack Plumley (Welwyn)
7 lap Handicap – Louis Modell East London Velo) Jack Plumley (Welwyn) Luke Morgan (Welwyn)

Youth BC
5 lap scr – Connor Woodford (Willesden) Charles Page (Hillingdon) Glen Dossett (Welwyn)
Devil – Charlie Page (Hillingdon) Connor Woodford (Willesden) Glen Dossett (Welwyn)
6 lap Points – Connor Woodford (Willesden) Charles Page (Hillingdon) Will Raymond (Welwyn)
5 Lap BCDE Handicap – Will Raymond (Welwyn) Michael Parry (Welwyn) Theo Modell (East London Velo)

Youth CDE
3 lap Scratch – Theo Modell (East London Velo) Owen Williams (Lee Valley) Tom Durkin (Welwyn)
500m Sprint – Tom Durkin (Welwyn) Owen Williams (Lee Valley) Harry Towning (Welwyn)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.