Report: Eastern Region Track Champs

Home » Track cycling

Bookmark    and Share  Follow on  Follow        British Cycling on Facebook  Follow British        Cycling on Twitter Visit our        Youtube Channel Visit our        images on Flickr

Eastern Region Track Championships

Sunday 20th June 2010, Story posted June 25, by Peter Waghorn

Finchley RT’s Trevor Burke dominated the Senior events in this years Track Championship at Welwyn on Sunday winning the Sprint and 10 mile and taking a fine second place in the 6 lap Individual Pursuit in difficult windy conditions. The Women and the various Youth age groups raced in a series of four event Omnium competitions. The programme also included the Eastern Counties Cycling Association Track Championships.
The proceedings opened with the 6 lap Senior Individual Pursuit where Trevor Burke set the target in Heat 5 with 3-33-41  and this held top spot until Heat 8 when a superb ride by Murat Ozdenya took over with 3-32-81 with Simon Bateson moving into third spot in this heat with 3-34-11. The four rounds of the Senior Sprint saw  Trevor Burke, George Olive, Andrew Elderfield  and Wayne Crombie qualify for the two lap final. Burke led out with 250m  to go and held off the challenge from clubmate George Olive to take victory with Andrew Elderfield close up in third place.

In the four event Women's Omnium, Welwyn Wheelers took the top three places with Laura Trott winning the Sprint, Pursuit and 10 lap Scratch but losing out to Vicky Williamson in the 200m time trial. Claire Newland, having finished 6th the previous day in the CTT 50 mile Time Trial in 1-57-57, found it tough going but finished third overall and also rode in the Welwyn Wheelers Team Pursuit squad taking third place.

The six lap Team Pursuit trophy changed hands with East London Velo taking the title in 3-30-53 from Cambridge who had won the event for the last three years, the Cambridge time was 3-34-78. The Youth A Omnium was won by Alex Anderson with Josh Maynard edging out Alan Trolove for second place by virtue of getting into a breakaway with Laura Trott in the combined Youth A and Womens 10 lap Scratch and taking maximum points in the final race.

Ollie Plumley won the Youth B Boys Omnium with brother Jack taking the Youth C event. Bethany Hayward was the clear winner of the Youth B girls Omnium while Simon Bird took the Youth D event. The final event of the now sunny afternoon, the Senior 10 mile, saw a group of five riders take off after around 10 laps containing Phil Hetzel, Sam King, Trevor Burke, Wayne Crombie and Vince Divine.

Attempts from the bunch to chase them down were nullified by Finchley, East London Velo and Cambridge who all had a man in the break. The lead grew lap by lap until as the bell sounded, the break was within reach of the bunch. Trevor Burke, the defending Champion led out and won by a wheel from Sam King and Phil Hetzel to complete a good afternoons racing


Senior Sprint
1. Trevor Burke (Finchley RT)
2. George Olive (Finchley RT)
3. Andrew Elderfield *(VC Revolution)

10 mile
1. Trevor Burke (Finchley RT)
2. Sam King *(Cambridge)
3. Phil Hetzel *(Ipswich BC)

Team Pursuit
1. East London Velo* 3.30.53,
2. Cambridge* 3.34.78
3. Welwyn Whs * 3.38.22,
4. Finchley RT 3.40.59

Individual Pursuit
1 Murat Ozdenya (Flitch Crono)           3.32.81  *
2 Trevor Burke    (Finchley RT)            3.33.4
3 Simon Bateson (East London Velo)     3.34.11  *
4 Tom Gallacher  (Welwyn Whs)           3.37.99   *
5 Wayne Crombie (East London Velo)   3.43.47   *
6 Adam French     (East London Velo)    3.43.69   *
7 Vince Divine      (Finchley RT)          3.44.91
8 Glen Vinicombe  (Cambridge)            3.46.19  *
9 Steve Hayward    (Welwyn Whs)          3.46.93  *
10 Mark Smith        (Welwyn Whs)          3.47.28  *
11 Andy Ballentyne (Easterley RC)          3.48.02  *
12 Robert Cox             (Cambridge)              3.48.64  *
13 Kevin Gill           (Ciclos Uno)             3.49.21  *
14 Phil Hetzel          (Ipswich BC)            3.49.22  *
15 Sam King            (Cambridge)             3.49.70  *
16 Tim Read            (Stevenage)               3.51.38  *
17 Simon Hime        (Finchley RT)           3.52.19
18 Eric Gowland      (Cambridge)             3.54.25  *
19 Simon Layfiedl   (Team Welwyn)        3.55.50
20 Adrian Grimwood (West Suffolk)        3.55.85  *
21 Tim Chandler        (Welwyn Whs)       4.01.22  *
22 Nick Calverey       (Finchley RT)         4.01.43
23 James Carpenter    (West Suffolk)        4.04.33  *
24 Dave Dickie          (Finchley RT)         4.05.85
25 Andrew Elderfield (VC Revolution)    4 06.31  *
26 David Scott            (Welwyn Whs)       4.06.97  *
27 Paul Bird               (Glendene)              4.12.12  *
28 Daniel Zagni         (Ipswich BC)           4.14.75  *
29 Jeremy Chandler-Smith (Welwyn W)   4 17.50  *
30 Nick Faint              (Finchley RT)         4 20.45
31 Steve Milton          (Welwyn Whs)        4 20 66  *
32 Tom McClaren      (East London Velo) 4.22 38   *

* Signifies ECCA riders

Click here for more results (PDF)