Welwyn Grass Track Open

Home » Track cycling

Team Welwyn Open Grass Track Meeting

August 2nd, 2009; Sele School, Hertford; thanks to Sophie Bruton

Sunday, August 2, saw exciting grass track action at The Sele School, Hertford including rounds of the British Cycling National 800 Metres Series and 8km Series. With these major events on the programme, there was a high quality field assembled for the day’s racing and in spite of a relatively small entry, spectators enjoyed fast paced, competitive riding throughout the event.

Bryan Taylor of VC Londres was in dominant form, winning all the senior events and showing a marked tendency to ride away from the field. Behind him however, the battle for second place was hotly contested. In the opening event of the day, the British Cycling 800 Metre Series, the heats were won by Bradley Burbridge (cycling bargains.com.infinis) and Tom Gosbee (Team Welwyn) but this did not prove a good indicator of form for the final, where Gosbee faded to third behind Taylor and Richard Lambert (Cottingham Coureurs), while Burbridge came in sixth feeling unwell and withdrew from the remainder of the day’s racing.

A Youth Under 12 One Lap TT was a family affair with only twins Daniel and Rebecca Maynard (CC Ashwell) competing in this category, but nonetheless producing some close fought racing. Daniel proved slightly faster than Rebecca in a very tightly contested race winning in 56.60 to his sisters 56.68. The U14 and U16 TT also produced some very close results with Sam Gilzean (Icknield RC) running out the winner with a blistering ride of 39.90, ahead of Alan Trolove (West Suffolk Wheelers) 40.94.

The TT results were translated into the start order for a time based Youth Handicap, which looked to be spread round the track at the bell but produced a close finish as the handicap unwound in the final straight, Joshua Maynard (Welwyn Wheelers) running out the winner from George Bateman (Welwyn Wheelers) and Daniel Maynard.

In the British Cycling Grass Track Endurance Series, the 8km Scratch, Taylor’s position as the current Series leader was confirmed after he responded to a strong attack by Phil Lisher (Team Welwyn), which came after a third of the distance was completed. Lisher and Taylor worked well together in the early stages of the break until Taylor eventually employed his trademark tactic of riding away, for the win, Lisher taking  a comfortable second place ahead of a closely fought sprint for third in which Tom Gosbee came out ahead of David Langlands (Fenland Clarion).

A Youth U12 Keirin, in which Pete Whelan sportingly provided the ‘Derny’ power, was again a win for Daniel Maynard who closely beat his sister to the line in once again an entertaining race. Meanwhile, the Youth A and B Devil was another win for their brother Joshua Maynard ahead of Alan Trolove and Sam Gilzean.

The Seniors and older youth riders took to the track for a 4km Madison with riders drawing for pairings. Alan Trolove and Bryan Taylor proved the strongest duo to come out the winners from Joshua Maynard and David Langlands, while Phil Lisher and George Bateman took third place. On a 400m track in windy conditions this was a demanding event, in which ability to manage changes well played a leading role in the success of the teams.

A Youth U12 Half Lap Dash was another victory for Daniel Maynard and he also proved a confident and competent Backward Bike Pusher in the U12 ‘fun’ event. This led to demands for a senior and junior backward bike push challenge with Joshua Maynard winning, although some dodgy tactics (bike facing forwards for part of the event) led to calls for disqualification.

The Devil held over 3km was a win for Bryan Taylor from Tom Gosbee and Richard Lambert, with the same riders also filling the top paces (and in the same order) in the 3km Points Race. A final ‘fun’ event to round off the day’s racing was the ever popular hoops race in which some very sporting riding by David Langlands produced a worthy winner in Daniel Maynard, ahead of Langlands and with Sam Gilzean filling third place.

Team Welwyn would like to thank The Sele School for the use of their excellent facilities, members and friends for their assistance with the event and Wilks Head and Eve for sponsorship.
8km National Series
1. Bryan Taylor
2. Phil Lisher
3. Tom Gosbee
4. David Langlands
5. Pete Whelan
6. Richard Lambert
National 800 Metre Series
1. Bryan Taylor, VC Londres
2. Richard Lambert, Cottingham Coureurs
3. Tom Gosbee, Team Welwyn   
4. Phil Lisher, Team Welwyn   
5. David Langlands, Fenland Clarion       
6. Bradley Burbridge, Cyclingbargains.com.infinis