Brooks Cycles Track League (#11)

Home » Track cycling

Brooks Cycles Track League (#11)

July 9, Lyme Valley Stadium (Newcastle, Staffs)
Thanks to Chris Pyatt

Week 11 of the Brooks Cycles Newcastle Track League in Staffordshire saw some exciting racing under bright sunny skies at the Lyme Valley Stadium. The Keirin League saw six riders make it through to the final where Robert Lambton of Brooks Cycles put in an impressive turn of speed over the last 200 metres to hold off Matthew Rotherham of Sportcity Velo and Andrew Magnier of Planet X.

The other A Class events saw Robert Lambton win the 10 lap scratch and Andrew Magnier win in impressive style the Points race. Declan Byrne extended his overall lead with wins in the A Win and Out and the final 10 mile scratch. The B Class events saw Martyn Shaw, Lyme RC, take wins in the opening 8 lap Scratch and the Course de Primes.

Youth rider Joffie Houlton of Newcastle RC 2001 continued to show what an improved rider he is this year as he won the Win and Out event. Fellow youth rider Joe Turner, Eastlands Velo, won the 10 mile Scratch and this along with two other second places helped him retain his overall lead in this table. The Youth events saw 13 riders take part with eight riders scoring points. Sam Birchall, Lyme RC, scored five points in winning the Devil and placing second in the 400m Time Trial. Other good point scorers were Alex Taylor of Sportcity Velo and Joe Evans of Newcastle RC 2001 who both gained 4 points on the night.

The Freewheelers League was a little down on numbers this week with 15 riders starting but what they lacked in numbers they made up for with 100% effort with the top points scorers in each group as follows;

Group 1 George Edwards
Group 2 Sallie Birchall
Group 3 Sadie Jones



Group 1

Race 1
1st George Edwards  Lyme RC /Swinnerton Cycles

Group 2

Race 1
1st Luke Mansfield  Newcastle RC 2001/Poly Print/Modern Glass
2nd Ashleigh Williams  Lyme RC/Swinnerton Cycles
3rd Megan Wynn   Lyme RC/Swinnerton Cycles

Race 2
1st Megan Wynn
2nd George Edwards
3rd Josh Davis   Newcastle RC 2001/Poly Print/Modern Glass

Race 3
1st Sallie Birchall  Lyme RC/Swinnerton Cycles
2nd Josh Davis
3rd Megan Wynn

Race 4
1st Sallie Birchall
2nd Josh Davis
3rd George Edwards

Race 5
1st Sallie Birchall
2nd Luke Mansfield
3rd Josh Davis

Group 3

Race 1
1st Liam Zwetschnikow  Lyme RC /Swinnerton Cycles
2nd Bradley Hill   Lyme RC/Swinnerton Cycles
3rd Oscar Crooks   Lyme RC/Swinnerton Cycles

Race 2
1st Sadie Jones   Newcastle RC 2001/Poly Print/Modern Glass
2nd Liam Zwetschnikow
3rd Oscar Crooks

Race 3
1st Sadie Jones
2nd Megan Williams  Lyme RC/Swinnerton Cycles
3rd Sophie Purton
Race 4
1st Sadie Jones
2nd Liam Zwetschnikow
3rd Oscar Crooks

Race 5
1st Aleshia Mellor
2nd Sadie Jones
3rd Liam Zwetschnikow
 Megan Williams


Youth 400m TT
1st Alex Taylor  Sportcity Velo
2nd Sam Birchall  Lyme RC/Swinnerton Cycles
3rd Joe Evans  Newcastle RC 2001/Poly Print/Modern Glass

A Class 10 Lap Scratch
1st Robert Lambton  Brooks Cycles
2nd Andrew Magnier  Planet X
3rd Matthew Rotherham   Sportcity Velo

B Class 8 Lap Scratch
1st Martyn Shaw   Lyme RC/Swinnerton Cycles
2nd Joe Turner   Eastlands Velo
3rd Ian Moore   Deeside Olympic

Youth Block H’Cap
1st Imogen Crooks  Lyme RC/Swinerton Cycles
2nd Thomas Rotherham  Eastlands Velo
3rd Leone Davis   Newcastle RC 2001/Poly Print/Modern Glass

Keirin League
1st Robert Lambton
2nd Matthew Rotherham
3rd Andrew Magnier
4th Declan Byrne   Brooks Cycles
5th Tom Powell   Newcastle RC 2001/Poly Print/Modern Glass
6th Steve Clayton   Lichfield CCC

B Win and Out
1st Joffie Houlton  Newcastle RC 2001/Poly Print/Modern Glass
2nd Neil Clarke   PM
3rd Paul Barber   Scunthorpe Poly

A Class Win and Out
1st Declan Byrne
2nd Robert Lambton
3rd Matthew Rotherham

Youth Team Sprint
1st Matthew Braybrooke Eastlands Velo
      Leone Davis
       Joe Evans
       Alex Taylor
       Thomas Rotherham

B Class Course De Primes
1st Martyn Shaw
2nd Joe Turner
3rd Joffie Houlton

A Class Points
1st Andrew Magnier
2nd Adrian Adgar  Go Sport Spex RT
3rd Declan Byrne

Youth Devil
1st San Birchall
2nd Joe Evans
3rd Christian Braybrooke

B Class 10 mile Scratch
1st Joe Turner
2nd Paul Barber
3rd Martyn Shaw

A Class 10 Mile
1st Declan Byrne
2nd Steve Clayton
3rd Robert Lambton