Great Britain Cycling Team confirmed for the UEC European Track Championships

Great Britain Cycling Team confirmed for the UEC European Track Championships

Home » Track cycling

British Cycling is pleased to announce the riders who will compete at the forthcoming UEC European Track Championships in Plovdiv, Bulgaria, from 11th – 15th November.

The reigning European team pursuit champions Laura Kenny, Elinor Barker, Katie Archibald and Neah Evans will be joined by Josie Knight to defend their title as well as contest the other women’s endurance events.

On the men’s endurance side, it will be Ethan Vernon, Matt Walls and Ollie Wood who represent the Great Britain Cycling Team.

For the first time in history, the women’s team sprint becomes a three-woman event with senior academy sprinters Milly Tanner, Blaine Ridge-Davis and Lusia Steele joining up with podium sprinter Lauren Bate to form the women’s team sprint squad for this race. Olympic bronze medallist Katy Marchant and Sophie Capewell will compete in the remaining sprint events for Great Britain, with their focus firmly set on Tokyo 2020.

Team Announcement

Performance Director Stephen Park said: “The European championships marks the first track racing opportunity for the Great Britain Cycling Team since the news of the delayed Olympic Games back in March, so we are looking forward to seeing what progression we have made as a result of refining our preparations to reflect the changing landscape.

“As well as using this event as a learning opportunity for Tokyo 2020, I am especially excited to support our female sprinters as they compete in the first ever three-women team sprint. We were keen to get ahead with this event and take all the early learning opportunities we can in order to be in the best possible position to qualify for the women’s team sprint in Paris 2024. It’s been refreshing to see the excitement and anticipation build up within this squad and I’m so pleased we’ve been able to strengthen up the depth of talent within the women’s sprint discipline on the Great Britain Cycling Team.

“Our attendance at these championships was not an easy decision to make, given the announcement of the latest national lockdown. However, we have confirmed with UK Sport that we are operating within the government guidelines concerning elite sport and Dr Nigel Jones, our Head of Medical Services, is confident that the COVID protocols put in place by the event organisers will mitigate risk to our staff and riders. We are operating an ‘opt in’ policy for all the competitions we attend, and we will continue to prioritise the health and well-being of our team.”

Great Britain Cycling Team for the UEC European Track Championships:

Men’s Endurance

Ethan Vernon

Matt Walls

Ollie Wood


Women’s Endurance

Katie Archibald

Elinor Barker

Neah Evans

Laura Kenny

Josie Knight


Women’s Sprint

Lauren Bate

Sophie Capewell

Katy Marchant

Milly Tanner

Blaine Ridge Davis

Lusia Steele