Great Britain name eight Paralympic champions in squad for Glasgow Para-Cycling International

Great Britain name eight Paralympic champions in squad for Glasgow Para-Cycling International

Home » Track cycling

Paralympic champions Jody Cundy, Louis Rolfe, Jon-Allan Butterworth, Megan Giglia, Steve Bate, Adam Duggleby, Lora Fachie and Corinne Hall are all among the Great Britain Cycling Team squad which will contest the para-cycling events which run alongside the Tissot UCI Track Cycling World Cup in Glasgow next weekend.

Para-cycling races will once again be showcased during the Friday sessions, giving para-cyclists from across the world the chance to compete on the track as they continue their preparations for Tokyo 2020.

Seven-time Paralympic champion Cundy will line-up for the team sprint event in which he is reigning Paralympic champion, while his gold-medal winning team-mates from Rio 2016, Rolfe and Butterworth, will also compete.

Tandem duos Bate and Duggleby and Fachie and Hall, both of whom are reigning Paralympic pursuit champions, will contest that event in their respective categories, as will Megan Giglia, who won the WC3 title in Rio.

Adam Duggleby & Steve Bate

2018 world champion Crystal Lane-Wright (WC5), world scratch race silver medallist Will Bjergfelt (MC5), recent UCI Road World Championships medallist Jaco van Gass (MC3), 2017 world champion Jon Gildea (MC5) and MC2 flying 200m world record holder Matthew Robertson will also line up in national colours.

Completing the Great Britain Cycling Team line-up is Scotland’s Fin Graham, who has highlighted his potential on both track and road in recent seasons, since moving from his native Highlands to the team’s base in Manchester.

The 20-year-old is relishing a return to Scotland:

“This has been something that has been on my radar for a while, so be named in the team to compete at Glasgow is fantastic. The previous track world cup which featured para-cycling – in London last year – was an amazing experience, so I can’t wait to compete in front of what will hopefully be a typically passionate Scottish crowd.”

The full Great Britain Cycling Team for the Glasgow Para-cycling International is below:

Louis Rolfe (MC2)

Matthew Robertson (MC2)

Jaco Van Gass (MC3)

Fin Graham (MC3)

Jody Cundy (MC4)

Jon Gildea (MC5)

Will Bjergfelt (MC5)

Jon-Allan Butterworth (MC5)

Steve Bate (MB)

Adam Duggleby (Pilot)

Megan Giglia (WC3)

Crystal Lane-Wright (WC5)

Lora Fachie (WB)

Corrine Hall (Pilot)

The Great Britain Cycling Team for the Tissot UCI Track World Cup in Glasgow was named earlier this week, and is available here. The event will run between November 8 and 10; a full event schedule can be accessed here, and tickets are available from here.