Track World Cup Glasgow Member Access
Second gold for Bate at British Cycling National Youth and Junior Track Championships

Second gold for Bate at British Cycling National Youth and Junior Track Championships

Home » Track cycling

Lauren Bate won her second title of the week in Newport on day three of the British Cycling National Youth and Junior Track Championships.

Bate added the junior women’s sprint title to the time trial honours won earlier in the week.

Double champion

Team Terminator’s Lauren Bate set the early pace in qualification for the sprint, posting the quickest time of 11.620.

Keirin champion Georgia Hilleard was the only other rider to go under 12 seconds - and the duo locked horns once again in the final.

But it was Bate who came out on top to win her second title of the week, beating the Wolverhampton Wheelers CC rider 2-0 in the final.

Bronze went to Aleshia Mellor of Lyme RC who beat Alexandra Novacki (Sportcity Velo) 2-0.

CC Ashwell’s Sophie Lewis won the scratch race following her excellent performance in the points heats on Tuesday.

Lewis beat Team Jadan-Weldtite’s Elena Smith into second place, with Amy Cole (Cycle Specific CC) taking third.

Madison silver medallist Lauren Dolan reached the top step of the podium in the junior women’s points race.

Along with Rachel Jary (VC Londres), the Liv CC - Epic Coaching rider took a lap on the rest of the field, with the gold medal coming down to the final sprint.

Dolan crossed the line first to take gold, with Ellie Russell, winner of four sprints, taking bronze on 20 points.

Male juniors and youths

Rhys Britton and Jake Stewart successfully retained their male youth Madison title.

Britton (Bush Healthcare CRT) and Stewart (Swinnerton Cycles) won points on every sprint, dominating the field to claim gold with 48 points.

Second place went to Jacob Vaughan and Fred Wright of VC Londres on 37 points, with Joseph Nally ( and William Tidball (PH-MAS-Milnes-Oldfield) in third on 28.

In the male youth points race, three riders took a lap on the rest of the field forcing a decisive sprint on the final lap to decide the medals.

VC Londres’ Oscar Nilsson-Julien crossed the line second, which was good enough for the win on 31 points.

Teammate Leo Hayter finished behind him for silver on 27 points beating James Code (Team Backstedt-Hotchillee) who also had 27 points by virtue of a better placing on the final sprint.

The new junior men’s keirin champion is Lewis Stewart (Glasgow CT).

Stewart crossed the line first to take the title, with Christopher Heaton (Sportcity Velo) second and bronze going to Hamish Turnbull (Speedflex RT).


Junior men

Junior women

Male Youth

Female Youth